November 27, 2007

Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 1:13 pm by Jenn

Thanksgiving dinner was a huge success!  We had 10 guests and 4 “to go” plates, including one for “old guy” who came out of his booth to kiss me he was so excited.

I am so glad I managed to pull that whole dinner off on my own.  It was a lot of work, but well worth it.  Everyone really seemed to enjoy the meal.  I think the thing I am most proud of is pulling off Pumpkin Pie without Sweetened Condensed Milk (SCM).  Here is the recipe for Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute…it WORKED!  I was a little nervous so Scott and I sampled the pie the night before and I was amazed how good it was.  I will use this instead of SCM for all my future pumpkin pies.

I also ventured off the “safe” path and tried this Pecan Pie.  No Karo syrup and it was FABULOUS!

So with that said, soups on!  Today is turkey soup day.  Scott is sick so it is perfect timing!

4 Comments »

  1. Emilie Collins said,

    I never even knew you could MAKE condensed milk. You are truly turning into Martha Stewart. Have you made a key lime pie yet?
    em

  2. Emilie Collins said,

    Oh, what do you mean about the man jumping out of the booth?

  3. Heather said,

    Woohoo! What an accomplishment – feeding 14 people, and getting a kiss from Old Guy! You go, girl!

  4. Ruth said,

    Sounds WONDERFUL! Great work, Jenn.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

