December 29, 2007

Back to work

Posted in Journal, Max's World, What's for Dinner at 9:49 pm by Jenn

Well, it looks like my vacation is about to end.  Scott brought home a vacancy announcement for a position that I said I would accept.  I guess that means I’ll be returning to work in the new year.  It’s not nutrition related, but it’s good money and it’s part time so I’ll still have plenty of free time for knitting, blogging and all the other projects I’ve seemed to accumulate recently.  Besides, a little cash in the pocket will be a good thing to support my new swapping habit.  I’ll complete the application this weekend, turn it in sometime next week and then just wait to find out when I start.

 Max is going to be sad when I go back to work.  He is my little shadow during the day.  Every move I make he is right there with me.  He really has mellowed out a lot since we’ve been in Belarus. 

Tonight’s dinner, chili w/cheese and cornbread! YUM.  All locally purchased ingredients and better than I ever made in the states.   

Haiku Friday – 2

Posted in Journal tagged , at 1:31 am by Jenn

Haiku Friday

Plan your strategy.
Battle with your opponents.
Play the game of RISK.

Turducken

Posted in Journal, What's for Dinner tagged , , , , , at 1:23 am by Jenn

I have wanted to  try a turducken for the past few years, but it just hasn’t been in the cards (cost, deployment, etc).  This year it’s out of the question because of shipping.  

A turducken is a  chicken stuffed into a duck, stuffed into a turkey.  I had read about them on the net and John Madden talks about them now and then during football.

We needed something to send to my parents for the holidays and decided to send them a turducken.  Of course, I had to tell them that we were sending dinner and asked if they would like the gift for Christmas or New Years.  They selected New Years.

My mom called today to say that the turducken had arrived, they plan to eat on Sunday.  I asked her to take a picture so I’ll be sure to post it when she sends it to me. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.