March 19, 2008

Hope for Brighter Days

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 8:05 pm by Jenn

crocus.jpg 

My part-time position has turned in to a temporary full time position with all of craziness surrounding the American community here.  I’m feeling a little like a fish out of water given that today was my third day on the job and I really have no clue what I should be doing.

It’s no secret that we have been asked to reduce the number of American staff here in Belarus.  The decision has been made who those people will be and now those of us staying in Belarus are trying our best to focus attention on getting these people, their families and belongings to their next destination.  I guess there really is no right or wrong way to tackle this daunting task.  Tomorrow I’m just going to jump in with both feet and do what I can for these people. 

Coming from a military family and marrying in to a military family you become accustomed to people coming in and out of your life, but I don’t think anything I’ve ever experienced before could have possibly prepared me for all this.

The next couple of weeks are going to be interesting so stay tuned!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.