March 28, 2008

Lettuce = GOLD

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 6:19 pm by Jenn

I need to get this out of my head before something happens to stifle my mojo again.  I’m not saying it’s back, but this is just so worth blogging about that…well here you be the judge.

I went to the grocery store today to buy lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers and kidney beans for tonight’s dinner…you guessed it Taco Salad.  I usually don’t pay much attention to prices (sorry Mom, I know you are cringing right now) because well quite frankly if you need something you buy it.  Well, I’m really glad that I was paying attention today, because the first head of lettuce that I picked up was already marked (usually they aren’t marked, you take them up to the girl, she weighs them and puts the price sticker on) 42000 byr.  I had a friend with me so I asked, “Does this say 42000″, her reply “Yep”.  Now I know why this head of lettuce was already priced.  Someone obviously wasn’t interested in paying $19.53 cents for a head of lettuce and I don’t blame them but you can’t have Taco Salad without lettuce.  Tonight is game night and Taco Salad is on the menu so I searched for a lighter head (x2).

Here’s a picture of the lettuce…

crazy-lettuce.jpg

27107 Belarusian rubles…any idea how much that is in US $, well let me tell you $12.50 (give or take a few cents)…..TWELVE DOLLARS AND FIFTY CENTS! FOR LETTUCE! ICE BERG LETTUCE, water basically.  There better not be one rust spot on this lettuce.

After inspecting the label carefully I think that I’ve figured out why this lettuce is so expensive.  The part of the label you can’t see clearly says product of SPAIN.  This label, in Russian says “Fresh Salad Imported from the Netherlands”.  My suggestion, why not buy lettuce grown in Spain, from Spain?

So there you have it…a mojo moment, captured and blogged about so not to be forgotten.  You’ve got to love the absurdity of Belarus.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.