May 16, 2008

Minsk 11

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , , at 2:18 pm by Jenn

As most of you know by now Scott and I were among the diplomats who left Belarus on May 3rd.  Ten (10) American diplomats were declared persona non grata and the 11th (Scott) left for administrative reasons. 

This news wasn’t widely covered in the United States, but did finally make the May 12th episode of the Colbert Report.  We also managed to make it to YouTube.  This video was taken on the day we left.  Max has a cameo.  I fortunately did not make the video.  I was probably off to use the restroom as my traveler’s bladder was calling.

What this video depicts is the pre departure and the convoy heading toward and crossing the border to Lithuania.  What this video does not depict are the friends and co-workers that we left behind.

Yesterday the US imposed further sanctions so I’m sure this is all far from over.  Stay tuned.

 

5 Comments »

  1. wineymomma said,

    Oh, Jen..I feel your pain…at least the people I leave behind are safe and free.

    Max looked adorable!

  2. Ruth said,

    Incredible! I’m glad you’re safe. I’m looking forward to hearing more about where you are & where you’re going whenever you know that & whenever you can say.

    In the meantime, so glad Max is with you two. He IS a cutie.

    Good luck!

  3. sjsmart said,

    We are definitely going to Baku, Azerbaijan. Leaving our friends and coworkers was hard and for them I know this time is extremely difficult. In this instance we are the lucky ones, not to be left to run that embassy with only 4 americans.

    My Max is always adorable. He was really upset that his red,white and blue bandana had been packed! He’s been a real trooper through all of this.

  4. kileigh7 said,

    Man-I’m glad you know where you’re going and that you’re ok. It’s awful to leave friends and coworkers…but like you said, you’re one of the lucky ones.

    BIG HUGS

    and that Max is a cutie!

  5. Angie said,

    Wow, you know, I read about this on the NY Times and I remembered that you had had to pack up and “be ready,” and I wondered if you were OK and where you were going next. I have a little care package of food for you, so be sure and let me know when you have a new shipping address!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

