February 16, 2009

Dog DNA

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , , at 5:24 pm by Jenn

Today I was doing some online shopping for lint rollers, dryer sheets, dog food, nephew’s birthday present, etc. and I came across a product that I immediately had to learn more about. It’s a Dog DNA test, called the Canine Heritage Breed Test.

I know, I know, but really when you think about it, it’s a pretty cool concept and it’s one that can be of some benefit in trying to understand your dog. Knowing what types of breeds your dog is made of can help you to understand a LOT about his/her personality and can be beneficial for healthcare.

Max is definitely a mutt and we’ve had lots of guesses about what type of dog he is. A majority of people say definitely Spaniel, including our Spaniel loving friends Marci and Brian…but what kind?  One woman insisted he has some Gordon Setter – she raised Gordon Setters so I guess maybe she’d know. I’m curious and with this Dog DNA test I’m fairly certain that I’ll find out at last.

This company has DNA information for over 100 breeds of dogs…all of the breeds we suspect Max is are listed….Cocker Spaniel, Field Spaniel, Gordon Setter. It’s simple enough to obtain the DNA sample, all you have to do is take a swab (non-invasive) from the dog’s cheek, mail it off and wait….you can even send a picture and when they send you the results your dog’s picture will be there on his very own personal pedigree!

Yes, I’m crazy, but this is a great idea and I’m doing it. Stay tuned for the results!  In the meantime, here’s a couple of pictures (taken by our friend Kay Burn Lim on Christmas Eve 2008) of the guy….care to make a guess at what the results will show?

  

I’m guessing Field Spaniel/Gordon Setter.

4 Comments »

  1. wow. you’re like on the edge of science! can’t wait to find out. watch it be something really funky

    I knew when I saw Dog DNA that I just had to click. I was thrilled when I realized I could find out what Max is. Now I can’t wait to get the kit in the mail….waiting impatiently of course. : )

  2. Eva said,

    I’ll put in a guess: Cocker spaniel and some sort of terrier with a dominant cute gene!

    Definitley has the cute gene for sure! Terrier would surprise me.

  3. Jen D said,

    Cocker spaniel , Golden Retriever, Field Spaniel-going out on a limb w/the golden…

    Way out on a limb with that golden I think. Although he is a really sweet boy.

  4. Clare said,

    Awww 100% cute. :D

    That’s the part we already know, it’s the rest we’re guessing about!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

