October 15, 2009

WTF?

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 3:36 pm by Jenn

Well, here it is, October 14, 2009.  Where has the time gone?  I feel horrible that I haven’t been blogging lately.  There have actually been quite a few bloggable moments lately, but it’s hard to blog when you share a computer and work, and go to school and are watching all these stupid reality shows.  I need my other life back.  You know, the one I complained about all the time, but managed to fit in my therapy blogging on a regular basis.

There is a lot going on in my life right now.  I’m supposed to be leaving for Chile on October 27….that means packing, getting the dog export certificate and my visa in order.  That also means the last day of work which means, meetings and charting and making sure that all of the loose ends are tied up so the RD I’m covering for doesn’t think I’m a quack!

There’s also the fact that I have a project due for my Cardiovascular Nutrition class.  Yeah.  It’s due November 3rd.  I’ve started it.  I want to have it finished before I move.  That’s looking doubtful.

There are friends to see, food to eat and Ren Fest to visit one more time.

Scott’s in town for a conference which has thrown an incredible kink in to a lot of my previously made plans.  I mean, I should spend time with my husband given the fact that I haven’t seen him since June right?

There’s also a small amount of stress related to the fact that my husband is telling me that I should stay in the states rather than move to Chile.   He says it’s terribly expensive and that it will cost us money that we don’t have for me to join him there.  That’s all fine well and good and I wouldn’t mind staying in the States if I knew where we were going to be stationed next so that I knew where to potentially look for a job/house.

There is also the small fact that if I am to continue living in the US for now, that I’m sleeping on a futon in my parents very crowded, very disorganized house and it is driving me crazy.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful that I have been able to impose on them for all this time, but if I have to stay I’m going to need to buy a bed cause that futon just isn’t cutting it.  So, all that being said….what’s up with you?

Did I mention that I mailed my yarn stash to myself…in Chile….last week.  Uh oh!  LOL.

AND, I’ve decided not to get the Swine Flu vaccine.  I wash my hands enough and I think that I’m old enough to have had possible exposure to it as a child.  I think I’m just going to wait this one out.  I did however get the regular flu vaccine….courtesy of DaVita.

Stay tuned.

4 Comments »

  1. Jen DeVine said,

    Oh Jenn…my goodness! I will stay tuned! ;) love ya!

  2. Emily said,

    Scott thinks Chile is more expensive than the US? Or is it just that in the US you’re working whereas in Chile you wouldn’t be, at least at first?

    Good luck getting ready to (presumably) come down here – let me know what ends up happening!

    According to him, it is more expensive for everything. Also, there is the work factor to consider. My Spanish isn’t all that great so I wouldn’t be able to work in a job that would pay me anywhere near what I’m able to make here in the US. We’ve lost 1/2 of our income by me not working for the past 2 years and we need to get some money saved up because we hope to be posted back here in the US for our next assignment….that means house and with the economy the way it is, no one is going to want to give a loan to someone who hasn’t worked for 3 years (at that point)….

    So, I stay. I’m bummed because I was really looking forward to moving and experiencing the culture. I am hoping to be able to visit at least once though…I mean come on, fair is fair!

  3. Jessica said,

    Oh Jenn! What a mess. Let me know how things work out.

    And out of curiosity, why no swine flu vaccine? I’m still waiting for MED to get it out here. Want to keep the little bean safe and sound.

    I know Jess. I’m extremely upset at how this whole thing has turned out. So be it. I’ll just suck it up. As for the H1N1 vaccine. Orginally my train of thought was that I was moving to Chile, where they have already had their winter and the H1N1 has passed through there already. Now, my line of thinking is that I should be safe. I’m old you know, and I should be covered from previous exposure back in the day. If I continue working for DaVita and they offer it, I may get it, but I’m not going to go gang busters trying to stand in line. I was my hands and use Universal Precautions ALWAYS so I really an not concerned about contracting it. I’m not in a high risk group like you are. I think if I were pregnant I might consider it….especially living in Baku, the spit capital of the world.

  4. C said,

    Wow! So sorry to hear that you aren’t going to Chile :( Good luck getting settled in the U.S. Hope you and Max are doing well.

    Thanks! Max and I are troopers. We just go with the flow.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

