April 26, 2010

Sheep and Wool Pre Festival Plan

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 10:38 pm by Jenn

You know you are in trouble when you have to make a pre festival plan.  LOL.  I’m sure I’m not the only one, making lists, checking vendors, planning my attack for the big day…that’s right, it’s that time of year again.  The first weekend in May.  Time for none other than the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.  A knitter/spinner’s idea of heaven. 

Last year was my first experience and while I completely enjoyed myself, I was a little overwhelmed.  Partially due to the fact that I was jet lagged from my recent trip back to the US from Azerbaijan, partially due to the fact that I had been having serious fiber withdraw from living overseas and lastly due to the fact that I was walking around smelling lamb cooking, but everyone was speaking english.  It was kind of like and out of body experience.  I remember passing many booths by just because I was too overwhelmed to look at anything but yarn or fiber.  I didn’t want to be tempted by notions or soaps, or dyes or paintings.  I do remember buying some maple peanuts though and while they were tasty, that’s $10 that I couldn’t spend on yarn!  LOL.

This year I plan to get an earlier start, take my time and really get into it.  I have my must sees, but I also want to do a little gift shopping while I’m there.  Since I come from a family full of crafters this is one stop shopping for me.  I would really love to go on Saturday and be able to do all my shopping and then go back on Sunday to see the animals and take a bunch of pictures.  We’ll see, the weather is going to be the determining factor.  I really don’t want to trudge around outside in the rain.  Rain + Fairgrounds = MUD!

Here are my must sees (in no particular order).

Creatively Dyed

Brooks Farm

Tess’s Designer Yarns (home of Man Candy)

Woolstock

Cloverhill Yarn Shop

Cormo Association

Spanish Peacock

Fleece Sale – looking for a white fleece this year, because my dye pot will be here soon, Cande will be living nearby which means – lots of white fleece will be needed for dyeing….of course, grey and light brown might be interesting too…..see the dilemma I face at the fleece sale.  I really am thinking BFL!

Sheep Incognito

I’ve been dreaming about a Majacraft Wheel lately.  I love the way they look.  Of course I also love the old antique style too.  Did I mention I’ll have my own place again soon…..mwahaahaa!

Ok, time to sleep and dream of the weekend…..I’m off to count sheep!  LOL.

1 Comment »

  1. Carola said,

    I’m so jealous!

    Try to plan for a vacation next year!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

