November 10, 2007

Leftovers in the park

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 9:23 pm by Jenn

I love to walk Max on weekend mornings for the simple fact that I like to see what is “leftover” from the parties in the park the night before.  Now I’m not talking food or drink, I’m talking PEOPLE.  We have seen a couple of leftovers, one we actually thought was dead and in fact, we don’t know what happened to him.  He was defninitely out of it and on the bench in front of our apartment for at least 6 hours during the day….didn’t move a muscle.  We went out for dinner that night and when we came back he was gone….mysteries of the unknown.  My favorite though is shown in the following pictures.  Max and I were walking and we saw a blue “heap” in a pile of leaves.  I thought at first that the leaf rakers had left one of their tarps balled up in the leaves, but the closer I got, the more I realized that this heap had a human shape to it, and the closer I got I thought I could see an ear…and in fact I could.  A man had passed out in a pile of leaves, in the park (but very near the road).  I thought about letting Max walk over and lick him, but decided against that.  We walked around for a while, Max did his business and the man was still there.  We came back up to the apartment and I told Scott to come and see the man in the leaves.  We looked out the bedroom window and about that time the “show” started.  A man walked up to the man in the leaves, picked him up by the scruff of his neck/jacket and began shaking him…then he started smacking him….I swear we could hear it from our apartment, he was not being gentle.  He was yelling and smacking and shaking the man and it proved to be very effective.  The man “snapped” out of whatever coma he was in and the man continued to yell at him.  He stood him up and walked him over to the bench (still yelling)….placed him firmly on the bench and then proceeded to walk away.  Maybe he was related, maybe he was doing a good deed, maybe he was ashamed of the man….who knows, but it was very entertaining and here are the pictures.

Man in pile of leaves

Old Man with Man in pile of leaves

3 Comments »

  1. Mary Healey said,

    I remember this story. LOL!

    Oldie, but goodie!

  2. Mary Healey said,

    I cannot believe how long ago this was.

    Seems like yesterday Mary.

  3. […] can take Max for walks in.  This park is the source of much entertainment (see this post – Leftovers in the Park).  The apartment is about 1500 sq. ft. with 2 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, a kitchen, den, living […]


Leave a Reply

