December 4, 2007

Houston we have a problem…

Posted in Journal, Purls of Wisdom tagged , , , , at 11:11 pm by Jenn

oops.jpg

So there I was knitting away on my holiday project when I heard a funny snap.  I didn’t pay much attention to it until I got to the end of the row and I was holding only the point of my circular needle in my right hand.  That’s right, my needle broke.  The cord separated from the point.  It really took me by surprise.  These weren’t cheap needles.  I sat there for a minute and then surveyed the damage, I’d only lost about 20 stitches from the cord and it looked like I would be able to salvage it.  I gently installed a scrap piece of yarn to hold the stitches while I decided what I was going to do about the needle.  I’d read a horror story about someone trying to repair their needles with Super Glue so I opted against that.  Besides, I don’t even think they have Super Glue in Belarus.  The only thing I could think to use was tape.  So I taped it.  I was able to get all the stitches back on the needle and knit one more row before that “fix” gave out.

Since I’m fairly new to knitting I don’t have another set of needles this same size so I’m stuck until my new needles get here.  It figures, nothing like putting the crunch on me for the holidays.  Did I mention that the project has 128 rows and I am on row 40?  It will be at least 2 weeks if not 3 before the new needles arrive because of the APO mail system from the states so…tis the season.

On a brighter note, I emailed the company and they are sending me a new set of needles and want me to return the broken ones so that they can determine if they are the ‘old’ needles that they knew had a 5% failure rate.  I also ordered a new set of needles in a different brand so the upside is that I will now have a back up set in this size.

Now, I can’t work on the poncho and I can’t work on the Christmas project so I am working on some little handmade gifts for all these swaps I joined. 

2 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Uh-oh! Bummer! Those needles are supposed to be great. It’s nice that the company is sending out new ones. It’d be great if they’d send a lil’ somethin’ else, being that this is messin up the holidays and all!

    :O)

  2. sjsmart said,

    I’m pretty sure that I had an older pair, the color isn’t the same as my other needles (the cord part is white compared to a pearl on the new ones).

    I’m just thankful that they are sending new ones, something else would be great too, but just the needles is enough.

    Hopefully the Turbo needles that I ordered will live up to their name and help me whip this thing up. If they arrive on th 19th there is a chanc. Remember I only get mail on Wednesday’s.


Leave a Reply

