December 9, 2007

New Year’s Resolution

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 3:22 pm by Jenn

My New Year’s Resolution is to treat my body better by establishing a regular work out routine and sticking with it.  My goal is to get to 125# by my 39th birthday. 

When Scott and I moved to Belarus we joined a local gym.  Of course Scott has been going on a regular basis and I have not.  In fact, I have gone twice; once for a massage back in October and once yesterday. 

I met a couple of girls (women) at a party of Friday night who attend the same gym we joined.  They talked me in to attending this class called “Pump It Up”….yeah I know.  I’m sure it is the same as “Body Pump” which is offered in the states.  I accepted the invitation.  The class lasted an hour, it was hard and made me work up a sweat.  I really enjoyed it, my body on the other hand is really hating me today.  I should have known to take it easy my first time back.  I also should have known from watching several friends back in the states attempt to walk and do basic ADL’s (activities of daily living) following these classes.  Needless to say, “Pump It Up” was a true experience, not only was it in Russian, (thank goodness I know my numbers) but it really made me realize just how out of shape I am. 

The funny thing is that at another party last night (tis the season) I met another woman who attends this gym on a regular basis.  She invited me to attend “Sculpt” and “For Men Only”….”Sculpt” maybe, “For Men Only”, maybe in 6 months when I’ve toned up a bit.  I don’t want to kill myself right away.  I think some water aerobics and “Pump It Up” will be good for now.  There were two instructors a male and a female.  I’ve never seen so many muscles on such a small woman in all my life.  She was muscle and bone, that was it. I don’t need to look like that, muscle, bone and average body fat would be great.

The women in this country are all in really good shape (for the most part).  They walk EVERYWHERE and they really watch what they eat.   They are true role models for portion control.

Speaking of food, Scott and I are off to the grocery store.  We’re having cabbage rolls and mashed potatoes for dinner.  One of my Belarussian favorites!

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.