December 12, 2007

Cure for SSS (second sock syndrome)

Posted in Journal, Purls of Wisdom, What's for Dinner tagged , , , , , at 3:02 am by Jenn

Move to Belarus!  I can’t believe it.  I actually found myself wanting to knit the second sock.  The battery on my camera is dead (but charging).  I promise to take a picture and post it tomorrow.  In knitting this second sock, I’ve decided that I’d like to try a circular needle instead of using the double pointed ones.  I’m using 4 and it just seems like so much work.

Tomorrow is Wednesday (actually today is Wednesday) and you know what that means….MAIL!  I’m hoping my needles are in there, I’m doubting, but hopeful.  I’ve also ordered some goodies for my yarn swap partner and some random stocking items for Scott, so maybe those will arrive also. 

I’m finally recovered from “Pump it Up” and ready to give it another go.  Scott mentioned going to the gym on Wednesday.  I’m thinking cardio will be a good choice, and not too rough on the legs (note to self – charge IPod!)

I had a horrible lesson on Monday and decided to drop out of class until after the first of the year.  I’ve also requested a new instructor.  I’m a firm believer that attempting to learn Russian is painful enough without being verbally assaulted by the instructor.  I need to learn this language, but I don’t need to be bullied in the process. 

Scott and I noticed today that it is always dark here.  Now we know why they issue “happy lights” to everyone (picture of that tomorrow too).  It’s dark at around 8:00am and again at around 3:30pm.  The sun really doesn’t come out it just stays kind of grey all day.  My poor amarylis doesn’t even want to grow.  I’ll have to plug in the happy light for sure tomorrow.  They say it will stay lighter, longer in January.  Let’s hope so.    

I worked with the cook at the Marine house today.  She’s a very nice Belarusian woman named Irena.  We made Japanese Chicken Wings and Green Bean Casserole.  She was thrilled to learn some new recipes.   She asked for a lasagna, zucchini bread and bean soup recipe also.  I told Scott she really needs a Crock-Pot, she’s thrilled to see what it can do.  She’s never used one.  I explained to her that she can come to work, throw a bunch of stuff in it, turn it on and go home, 8 hours later dinner is ready without a lot of “work” on her part.  This will come in really handy for her on Fridays’ when she cooks meals (dinner) for the entire weekend.  I guess we should probably get her a cookbook too.  We also discussed things she’d like to try making, but has trouble getting ingredients for.  She mentioned cookies.  There is NO peanut butter, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, baking chocolate or vanilla extract in Belarus.  Thankfully we can order from Helsinki so she’ll be able to make cookies and cakes in a few weeks.

Mom, can you send some vanilla beans?  There’s plenty of vodka here and we discussed making homemade vanilla extract.  I’d like to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

