December 23, 2007

In Keeping with Tradition

Posted in Journal, Max's World, Purls of Wisdom, What's for Dinner tagged , , , , , , , at 11:54 pm by Jenn

Prior to moving from Maryland it was my Christmas Eve tradition to gather with close friends, eat tacos and exchange gifts.  When I moved to North Carolina I really missed that tradition.  Scott and I met good friends in North Carolina and started a new tradition…egg nog.  Christmas Eve, Christmas music, good friends and a few glasses of egg nog. 

This year we are in Belarus away from the Maryland tradition, away from the North Carolina tradition and decided not to feel sorry for ourselves.  We decided to carry on both traditions and to share them with our friends here in Belarus.  We firmly believe that everyone should eat tacos and drink egg nog on Christmas Eve.

Of course I planned before I thought.  Where was I going to find taco shells and where was I going to buy egg nog in BELARUS?  The taco shells were ordered online from Netgrocer and arrived last week so that was easy.  The egg nog on the other hand presented more of a challenge.   It was out of stock from all my ordering sources, or needed to be refrigerated and I didn’t trust that it would make it here in a timely fashion.  So that left me with one choice.  I was going to have to make my egg nog this year.  That presented me with even more of a challenge.  I needed to find a recipe that called for cooking the eggs….hmm.  Surprisingly I found this recipe for Amazingly Good EggNog.  I made the first batch to day and I must say it was AMAZINGLY GOOD!  I’d even go out on a limb and say it’s better than Larry’s Egg Nog, and that’s saying something (trust me on this Larry). 

Egg Nog Step 1

Egg Nog Step 2

Egg Nog Step 3

Egg Nog Step 4

The egg nog cooking must have inspired something in Scott because he decided out of the blue, that today was the day he was going to make Monkey Bread.  He also decided that we needed to make cookies for the party tomorrow night.  We spent the day in the kitchen needless to say, but we were very productive.  Snickerdoodles, Gingersnaps (sorry, family recipe), Cranberry Hootycreeks, cupcakes,  a cake, monkey bread and egg nog.  After all that it was time for a well deserved break.

Scott watched the football game and I, well of course I worked on my poncho.  Here is a picture of the progress (Row 56 of 72).  When this is finished I knit an identical piece and then join them together to make an L and then again at the open ends to close it in and make the poncho.

poncho-progress.jpg

This picture was requested by my mom.  The stockings and Max’s goodies have not been put out yet.  We are trying to decide whether to open gifts on Christmas Eve after the party or wait until Christmas morning.

christmas-tree-07.jpg

Last but not least, here is a picture of the bad dog Max, sitting on the naughty stool.  The little sucker bit me last night.  I guess I got too close to his “boney” when trying to retrieve the napkin from his mouth.  Ok, this really isn’t the naughty stool (but he really did bite me), but I made you wonder didn’t I?  This is Scott practicing the “table” agility command with him. 

max-table.jpg

4 Comments »

  1. Nadine said,

    Funny, taco’s have always been for BIRTHDAY celebrations in my little home.

  2. Ruth said,

    That’s it, I’m craving tacos now! I have a feeling trying to find a taco stand that’s open in L.A. on Christmas Day is going to be like trying to find pancakes in Islamabad during Ramadan! It’ll be homemade latkes for us tomorrow.

    Your picture of eggnog ingredients is great! Good to see Capt. Morgan in Belarus! Cheers!

    Merry Christmas!
    p.s. Max is looking especially cute in this picture.

  3. Mom said,

    The first big Christmas party that Dad and I had in Germany was in 1969 and I fixed homemade eggnog as we couldn’t buy it. I don’t think that we were worried about cooking the eggs then but I do remember it was great even without the Capt Morgan! The poncho looks REALLY pretty and the tree is definitely yours-everything properly placed. Thanks. Max is always cute.

  4. sjsmart said,

    Nadine – I’ll take tacos any time I can get them! I love em!

    Ruth – I haven’t seen the Capt. in the regular stores. Ah the perks of being a diplomat!

    Mom – You know me, Ms. Food Safety. I’ve finished the first piece of the poncho. Piece #2 to start tonight. I decided no beads this year for the tree. I like it both ways. Next year I think I am going to string these little red berries that they have here. Smaller than a cranberry a little bigger than a pea. I bet that will look nice.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

