January 1, 2008

Mission Accomplished

Posted in Journal, Purls of Wisdom tagged , , , at 3:22 am by Jenn

I have my first FO (finished object – for my nonknitter readers).   Actually not my first ever FO, but my first to wear in public by me FO.  I worked long hours on December 30th and 31st so that I would be able to wear my poncho out to a party on New Year’s Eve. 

Scott was really surprised that it turned out so well.  A neighbor was amazed that I had finished it so quickly.  I don’t think quickly is the most accurate description.  I mean I worked on it for 6 hours on Sunday and another 3 on Monday.  It took FOREVER to weave in all the loose ends.  Not my favorite part by any means. 

I wore black jeans, black turtle neck and my poncho.  I was comfortable and warm and got many compliments!  Here’s the picture.  I wish I had the 18″ Slane and Slane oval link.  It would look so much better with this outfit.  Maybe for Valentine’s Day?

FO

8 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    It is really pretty and the colors are wonderful. I am anxious to see all the defferent yarns that are in the poncho. I started Ms. Cruz clapotis the Zac will give her at the end of the year. it is with yarn from Brooks farm-mohair and wool-in oranges, reds, yellowy golds and a touch of lavendar. Really pretty-it is the pattern that you drop stitches-can’t wait! My shawl will take a back seat again.

  2. sjsmart said,

    Dropping stitches is only good if you do it intentionally! I seem to always realize I’ve done it once I’ve move up several rows. FRUSTRATING!

  3. notgoth said,

    you look so pretty in your poncho – congrats on finishing it. That must be very satisfying.

  4. Ruth said,

    Jenn, your poncho is GORGEOUS! And you look absolutely beautiful! I hope you had a great time at the party.
    Happy New Year.
    oxx Ruth

  5. sjsmart said,

    Thank you both for the compliments! I was so glad to have it finished to wear for the party.

    The party was a lot of fun. I’m going to blog about that experience now!

  6. Nadine said,

    Nice work Jenn!

  7. Jenny said,

    My name is Jenny and my husband and I have visited Minsk 3 times, we love it. My husband and I recently split in October 07 but we love Belarus.

    How come you are working there?

  8. sjsmart said,

    Thank you Nadine.

    Jenny – Thank you for commenting on my blog.

    Minsk is a nice city. I can’t wait to explore it more when the weather warms up.

    I accompanied my husband here for his work. I am not working.


Leave a Reply

