January 3, 2008

Caucus, Primary, What’s the Difference?

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 7:43 pm by Jenn

hdr_title.jpg

Since the 2000 election I get so excited during the election seasons.  Last night I did a google search looking to see when Maryland’s Primary elections were and came across this list.  When I was scrolling down looking for Maryland I noticed that some states have caucuses and some states hold primaries.  I wasn’t sure what the difference was and today I came across this video that helped to clear that up. 

I think there are good and bad points to each method.  For example, I like that with a caucus if your candidate doesn’t have a certain percentage of the vote you can move your vote to another candidate.   This method also seems very social and seems like there is less room for error.  Now the bad points I see are that the whole town will know who you voted for if you are the kind of person that likes to keep that sort of thing private.  With a primary (the voting style I’m used to) it seems so stressful.  It is my right and I am proud to vote and I will stand in line as long as it takes, but that doesn’t mean that I like it.  I don’t enjoy listening to the people around me complain about how long the lines are. People don’t seem to want to have a conversation, they just want to stand in line, complain and in turn close the curtain, pull the lever and vote.  If the line isn’t long, 5 minutes and you’re out of there.  One pull, one vote, done.  If you pull the wrong lever…too bad. 

So those are my thoughts on the two methods and I know I’m probably opening up a can of worms here, but what do you think? 

4 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    I like our style of voting. Oh, and the lines are about to be less – we’ve all been assigned a new pollilng place – I think they finally realized that a 4-hour line at the middle school was, um, how to say this? – RIDICULOUS!!

    :O)

  2. Heather said,

    Oh yeah, and not everyone votes via the behind-the-curtain method either. In Baltimore County, we voted via a scan sheet, which was printed large enough for senior citizens to view. After we marked our ballots, we walked up and handed them to someone, who could clearly see who we voted for if they wished to!

  3. sjsmart said,

    I forgot that Baltimore County didn’t use machines. I hope the new polling place is less crowded. I was still at the middle school last time I voted in Maryland. There sure are lots of people in Mayberry now.

  4. Mom said,

    And I will be the chief judge at the new polling place. I may have bitten of more than I can chew.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

