January 4, 2008

What A Difference The Sun Makes.

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , , , at 3:19 pm by Jenn

The sun is shining today!  I actually felt like getting out of bed this morning.  I felt so energized I decided to walk to the Embassy for lunch.  -12 Celsius, who cares!  I have my new down coat and the sun is shining.  I even remembered to take my camera with me and snap some long overdue pictures of Minsk.

 So here they are: 

heading-out.jpg  

This is taken as my walk is just getting underway, I’m a little way from my apartment, but not very far in to my walk.

heroes-memorial.jpg

I don’t know much about this memorial – CTELLA (pronounced Stella) Memorial, but it is a few blocks from our apartment.  There is a great park surrounding it.  This is a memorial monument for WW2 soliders.  There is a plaque there, but of course, I cannot read it (note to self, ask someone what the plaque says).

 minsk-cold-113.jpg

I sometimes pass this billboard.  It used to say Happy Birthday Minsk, now it says something along the lines of Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

ducks.jpg

There are a couple of bridges to cross and I love to look at the ducks.  I can’t imagine being in the water this time of year. 

planter-in-the-park.jpg

These planters are scatter throughout the park.  They change each season from what I’ve seen.  In the fall there were mums, now there is pine greenery.  They are really pretty.

river.jpg

Here’s another view of the river looking down toward the Island of Tears.  I don’t have a picture of that today, but will make sure to take one for a future post.

looking-back.jpg

Every once in a while I stop to look around and behind me.  It’s that kind of town.  There’s no one there today.  I guess they don’t like the cold either.  I decided to snap a picture showing the distance I’d covered.  If you look off in the distance behind the building in the middle you can see the monument.

So that’s it.  Finally some good pictures of Minsk on a sunny day.  I had to put the camera away though because it was so windy that my cheeks were burning.  I still had about a 15 minute walk and was desperate for a latte to warm me up.

5 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    The pictures are really pretty-but where were all the people-are they all working? And ducks look the same there as they do in South Hero. Did you have a good lunch?

  2. sjsmart said,

    Anyone in their right mind was inside today. Belarusian Orthodox Christmas holiday is Monday so I would imagine many people were on holiday.

    Lunch was mediocre at best, celery, carrot, lettuce and chicken salad, with a soup of potato, pickle, carrot and chicken. One person commented that in the 1 1/2 years he’s been here, this was the worst week for cafeteria food. I would have to agree.

    The ducks looked quite happy. I’ll have to remember my sunflower seeds next trip.

  3. Heather said,

    Are you crazy, woman? -ANYTHING* outside, and I ain’t walkin’ to the mailbox! Maybe I should go ahead and take my teaching degree to Arizona!!!

    :O)

  4. Mom said,

    Tell me more about the island of tears

  5. notgoth said,

    This is really cool. Thanks for sharing.. I am dead nosey.


Leave a Reply

