January 13, 2008

House Rules

Posted in Jenn, Belarus tagged , at 10:19 pm by Jenn

Since this posting challenge was presented back in December I’ve been thinking. What are the rules I live by? Where do I draw the lines that define my personal moral code? I really have given thought to these questions almost everyday. Today, I’m putting my thoughts down and moving on.

Until recently there were no real “rules” in our house. No rules unless you count, “if the bathroom door is closed, do not enter unless you have an invitation” as a rule. If you count that, then we had one. I’ve always been the kind of person that treated people the way I wanted to be treated so I guess you can say I live by the Golden Rule, you know, “Do unto others…” – that is my moral code!

New House Rules for 2008 and beyond:

1. Dinner is at 7:00pm.

2. If you will not be home for dinner please call.

3. Do not set your alarm for 7:00am when you do not intend to get up until 9:00am.

4. Underwear is not appropriate dinner attire.

5. Step out of the shower on to the tub mat, not the toilet contour rug!

6. If the bathroom door is closed, do not enter without an invitation.

7. Do not leave dishes in the sink. Put them in the dishwasher.

8. Do not lie, a lie is anything that is not the truth!

So there you have it. Crazy as it seems. I feel much better now.

Jenn, 38, Belarus

6 Comments »

  1. sagespot said,

    Gosh, I don’t think that’s crazy, I think those are all pretty spot on!

  2. notgoth said,

    Apart from Underwear is not appropriate dinner attire! Boo!! LOL.

  3. Care to add “Toilet seat and lid down at all times except when in use”?

    As for rule #3, Amen. Although I can be my own worst rule-breaker in that particular area.

  4. sjsmart said,

    Thanks Sagespot! I thought they were pretty good too.

    NG – : )

    Melissa – I was a #3 offender as well. Now that I don’t work, #3 is just downright cruel. Especially after a long night of blogging. LOL

  5. wineymomma said,

    toilet seat down is a must in our house because of the 100 lb dog that thinks porcelain is for keeping the water nice and cool!

    #3 offenders beware: I have thrown the snooze controlled offending alarm clock across the room!

    WM

  6. sjsmart said,

    Thankfully I don’t live with a toilet seat offender!


Leave a Reply

