January 14, 2008

Nutrition Day!

Posted in Journal tagged , at 9:27 pm by Jenn

Today was probably one of my most rewarding days in Belarus so far.  Last week I spoke to the head of the Gastroenterology/Nutrition department from the Belarusian Medical Academy of Post-Graduate Education to see if he would be able to assist me in gathering information for my country information report on Belarus.  He gladly accepted a meeting with me for today (Katya went with me to serve as a translator just in case). 

When I arrived I was surprised to see that I was being welcomed by the entire department of Gastroenterology and Nutrition  They had prepared a presentation and had a wonderful banquet in my honor.  This was the first time that they had hosted a dietitian from America.  

The presentation was in English and was very well done.  After the presentation they allowed me to ask questions of them and then they in turn asked questions of me.  It is my hope that I am able to have continued relations with this group of professionals.  They have invited me to attend the upcoming educational conferences in 2008, and I will seriously consider taking them up on these offers.

I in turn provided my contact information and have agreed to help them obtain information on membership with ADA.  They are very interested in evidence based medicine and are very interested in the ADA’s Evidenced Based Library and journal. 

So, I think that I have a great start on my project and should be able to prepare a draft tomorrow and possibly be ready to submit the final to AODA (American Overseas Dietitic Association) by the end of the month.  

I am so impressed with the hospitality and generosity of this group of professionals, they provided me with wonderful conversation, gifts, food and information.

 Some of the gifts I received were a musical box with strawberry/cream flavored tea, a briefcase with the academy logo (the bag contains several books related to the academy and its professionals, a key chain and pen), a handmade box with a handmade angel and a bottle of Belovezhskaya which is a special alcoholic beverage made from herbs.

Here is a picture of all the goodies I received:

nutrition-003.jpg

For all my RD friends at NHRMC, we started a discussion on TPN vs Tube Feeding and I asked if they used more TPN or more TF, the reply was, “It’s very simple.  If the gut works, use TF”.  I almost cried!

I’m going to have a cup of my new tea now! 

До свидания! (pronunced Dasveydanyah)

 (goodbye)!

PS – I started Russian classes again today!

10 Comments »

  1. your sp said,

    what a wonderful reception! that’s so cool that they made you feel so welcome and they came bearing gifts. what a great connection you’ve established.

  2. Mom said,

    I am SOOOOOO Proud of you. I can just imagine how good you feel and I hope the tea was good- sure does sound good.
    Does this go toward any of your yearly credits or just look good on your resume? Whichever it will be very interesting to bring light of your profession to others.

  3. not goth said,

    This is awesome! I am really pleased for you.

  4. Jenifer said,

    Hi there Jennifer! What an interesting time you’re having in Belarus — what an exciting experience to have in your life! I wanted to let you know that I was bad and that I *just* am getting your package for the silver/grey swap out today — my apologies for it being late!! You can expect to see it soon (… though I don’t know how long it takes mail to arrive to you …) –Jenifer (with one n) 🙂

  5. Ruth said,

    What a wonderful meeting of the minds!! You are an ambassador. This is very good for our planet, Jenn! Wonderful!! How does the tea taste? The gifts are so nice. I hope someday you’ll explain about the TF vs. non-TF . . . that sounds important.

  6. Jen Hann said,

    Very cool! I bet it is such a releif/boon to have people of your own discipline to discuss those acronyms with!

  7. Jen Hann said,

    Good for you! It must be a relief/boon to have people of your own proffession to discuss those acronyms with!

  8. sjsmart said,

    Thanks All! This was an amazing experience. They said that I was the first American Dietitian that had ever visited their University! I hope I made a good impression. I even sent them a handwritten thank you note today – actually it was Katya’s writting (in Russian), but I told her what to say : )

    Thanks again for all the kudos! I feel like a real human after that experience.

    Ruth – TF vs Not TF is a deep subject. I’ll find you a link on that!

  9. trashalou said,

    When you say you almost cried b/c they said T/f if the gut works , is that crying with relief or frustration?

  10. sjsmart said,

    Absolutely a cry of relief!


Leave a Reply

