January 22, 2008

Hot Cocoa Swap – Weekly Topic #3

Posted in Hot Cocoa Swap, Journal tagged , , , , , at 1:03 pm by Jenn

What is the most ‘random’ memory you have from your childhood? 
scan0003.jpg
This is the first picture that comes to mind when I think about random and my childhood.  My 10th birthday party!  Note the love for Volkswagen and afros.  Yes, that’s me standing proudly up front with my red, white and blue sundress, sporting my Shakey’s Pizza hat.  The year – 1979.
Now my mind starts bouncing, ah yes, the Christmas of the Barbie Townhouse – 1976?  Still afros, footie pajamas (that’s me in the red).  Hey wait, I think I see my chocolate ice-cream flavored lip gloss!
scan0002.jpg
Afros weren’t the only hairstyle back then…there were also braids.  Of course these were acheived by painfully combing through the afro…..OUCH!
scan0006.jpg
Late summer 1974 – Indiana?
No childhood is complete without having to hear “Brush your teeth and get ready for bed”.  I bet your bedtime didn’t include this –
scan0004.jpg
That’s right, the “JJ Hat” – “DYNOMYTE”!  1975
My Dad was in the AirForce and got sent overseas for a year when my sister and I were 3 and 5 years old.  My mom decided to move us back to her hometown of South Hero, Vermont.  I attended kindergarten here and then we spent summer vacations. 
  scan0007.jpg
Grammy’s house
scan0008.jpg
The front yard.  What better way to enjoy the sunset over Lake Champlain than in a nice comfy adirondack chair.
scan0010.jpg
The Lake
This is where I spent almost all of my time.  Searching for fossils, finding quartz, swimming (yes, the practice area for synchronized swimming) and just sitting and listening to the waves and watching driftwood sailboats sail off into the distance.
scan0009.jpg
scan0011.jpg
And of course it just wasn’t a complete day without a ride on the tree swing.  That’s the seat leaning up against the tree.  It was much more fun to live dangerously when we got older!
scan0005.jpg
5 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Oh, No. You. Didn’t.

    :O)

  2. sjsmart said,

    Isn’t that great! LOL! Thank God for relaxer and flat irons!

    Pay close attention to my facial features….remind you of anyone? ZACHARY! It’s scary. At least I think so.

  3. not goth said,

    what a fantastic way to spend your summers!

  4. Ruth said,

    Jenn!!! That first picture is FANTASTIC! I recognized your face right away! I took one look & thought “Daaance! To! The Mu-sic!” I LOVE Sly & The Family Stone & the hula hoop really works w/ that.

    You’re sooo cute!

    Must also say, the chairs at your Grammy’s house look utterly comfortable. I want to be right there.

    xoThanks for a great post.

  5. Mom said,

    What a surprise that was. That late summer 1974 was taken at Joan and Hanks house when they lived in the big house by Big Daddy’s.


Leave a Reply

