February 7, 2008

Let’s Talk About Sex!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 4:57 pm by Jenn

On Youtube.com this afternoon I’m looking for a video of the College Park tornado of 2001 when I come across this video.

This class was recommended to me by one of my bar customers in my junior year. I couldn’t wait until my senior year to register…seniors get first crack at it. The waiting list was always unbelievably long and the class is so hard to get in to if you’re not a senior. Well my senior year I got in (first try – I think on day 1 of class they waiting list was 120+).  This class was a true learning experience and probably one of the best classes I’ve ever taken (no offense to Dr. Higgins who remains “The Jedi Master”). Dr. Sawyer is awesome the class is unforgettable (I still my notes, which I refer to now and then) and where else would you ever get the chance to ask personal questions of a transgendered tibetan nun?

I experienced this class as a senior, but I wasn’t your typical college senior I was a 33 year old non traditional senior and I learned so much – I’m sorry to say.  Kudos to Dr. Sawyer for keeping it real and educating our youth (and not so youthful). 

If you watched the video – I got a B+!

8 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    I know a person I used to be married to who could have taken that class! :O)
    Why don’t I remember you taking this class while you were there???

  2. sjsmart said,

    You were still up in Baltimore so I didn’t see or talk to you that often. I’m sure I told you about the transgendered nun though! She was awesome!

  3. Ruth said,

    OMG! I’m pretty sure I took this class. It’s weird that I’ve forgotten about it though.

    The class I’ve remembered & spoken about most since college was the one on death & dying. Did you take that one?

  4. not goth said,

    damnit the link is broken – cant view the video

  5. sjsmart said,

    NG – the video works for me. Try this link

    Ruth – I don’t remember taking the death and dying class. I have taken several continuing ed credits on that subject though which were really helpful when I was working with the oncology patient population.

  6. not goth said,

    doh! I got it to work.

    I read about the nun – talk about colourful life!

  7. sjsmart said,

    She was really an awesome person. She has a wonderful sense of humor! I guess you’d have to.

  8. not goth said,

    yeah she seemed pretty amazing – you were really lucky to meet her.


Leave a Reply

