February 13, 2008

Mail Day = Good Day

Posted in Journal, Purls of Wisdom tagged , , , at 10:25 pm by Jenn

It was supposed to be Wordless Wednesday, but I don’t think that’s going to work out so well for me since Wednesday is also mail day.  Today was an AWESOME mail day.  I received 3 packages that I’ve been waiting for and one from mom which usually means food! 

swap-005.jpg

The first package was a little treat to myself, my favorite fragrance Amazing Grace.  I was almost out of most of the items I use shampoo/body gel, body lotion and perfume so a few weeks ago I decided to buy myself a special treat.  It arrived today.

The second package was the yarn for my HSKS4 partner’s bag.  I’m still not totally sold on the color that I picked for bronze (she’s a book color Ravenclaw) so I’m still on the lookout for the perfect bronze.  I do like the blue that I chose so I’m at least almost ready to start the bag.  I’m hoping to be able to find a better bronze, but if not I at least have one that I think is OK.  I’m going to felt the bag so the color is going to change a little anyway.

Package three from my mom had some yummy goodies, pretzels, Lipton Onion Soup mix, dried fruit, tea, hot cocoa mix, graham crackers and a pair of socks!  Hand knit, merino to keep me nice and warm on those cold walks with Max.

And last but not least……drum roll please!  My box from my Hot Cocoa Swap partner.  Ok, I’ll admit that I thought it was from my Valentine Swap partner because the return address label had hearts on it!  LOL.  We are supposed to wait until the 14th to open those packages…..UM, I couldn’t wait.  I tore in to that package as soon as I saw the label.  Here’s what was inside. 

swap-004.jpg

Lot of good stuff!  Peppermint flavored lip butter, apple pies, apple bars, yarn themed buttons, cute stitch markers, a great springy project bag (with fruit all over it – love it) with notions holder and some wonderful Hazel Knits sock yarn in the Chuckanut Drive colourway!  It’s great.  Nice bright colors.  Individually I would probably steer away from most of the colors in this yarn, but together with the dark plum color it works.  I can’t wait to see how it knits up.  I think this will definitely be the next pair of socks I cast on!  And last but not least, two different kinds of cocoa.  I’m having a hard time trying to decide which one to try first, but I think I’m most intrigued by the Wondercocoa

Here’s an up-close of the yarn

swap-006.jpg

The stitch markers

swap-007.jpg

and the cocoa

swap-008.jpg this one says Wonderslim on the label…LOL “for the health conscious chocolate lover”.  Yep, that would be me!

swap-009.jpg This one says low fat, kosher and organic (it even has the USDA Organic symbol).  There is a super sounding banana shake recipe on the side that I think I may have to sample in the very NEAR future.  As in tomorrow as soon as I walk up to the store and buy bananas. 

Thanks Rhoda G!  Wonderful box, I love it and it came on a day that needed some blah busting. 

Oh, and Scott got his BOSE sound system.  I wonder what’s next on his list of expensive man toys?

6 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Wow – that yarn is GORGEOUS!!! Wonderful package! You got the lowfat cocoa, I got some called “Holy Chocolate” that has up to 7 grams of fat per cup. It’s like drinking an oreo cookie. YUM!!!

    :O)

  2. kileigh7 said,

    oooh! The Alask-AHHHH is sooo yummy! That banana shake? That’s to die for. The little monkey just gobbles it up when I make those…and that’s usually after he steals 90% of the veggies off of my plate…but I digress

    and that yarn! YUMMMMYYYY!!!!

  3. rhoda said,

    like I said to you in email, SO glad it arrived safely and I’m so glad you like everything. I can’t wait to see how the yarn knits up and to hear how both of the cocoa mixes taste because I was tempted to get some for myself too! 😉

  4. sjsmart said,

    I was very lucky with this package. I haven’t tried the cocoa yet (I know, I said I was), but right now I”m on a Grandma Stroh’s kick. I also am in to this strawberry loose leaf tea….no worries, that cocoa will have it’s day!

  5. notgoth said,

    Now thats a great mail package!

  6. Au Pair said,

    very nice web site. My English is not so good, so I do not understandt it well, but it seems very good. Thanks


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

