February 13, 2008

Square Peg in a Round Hole

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 12:56 am by Jenn

peghole.jpg

Today was a snowy/rainy kind of day and I put it off going outside for as long as I could.  Finally around 1pm Max was begging to go out for his afternoon walk, so I bundled up and off we went. 

As we approached the side of the building I noticed an older woman struggling with the large iron gate.  This would be the same iron gate I couldn’t figure out when we first moved here and had to wedge my body through and then coax Max through at midnight in the rain! It is operated with a remote by the concierge when he’s paying attention. When he’s not, you are supposed to use the remote control they give to you to keep in your car. If you don’t have a remote and the concierge isn’t paying attention, you sit and wait and HONK!  This isn’t a people gate, it’s a car gate.

Anyway, back to the woman….she was trying to wedge herself through the small opening in the gate. When the woman saw me she looked very embarrassed and said in Russian what I took to mean “How the hell do I get out of here?”. 

Being the kind person that I am and having just learned the Russian word for “left” yesterday, I let her have it – слева  I said with confidence.  She pried herself out of the gate and looked to the left, said Oye and opened the hand gate.  I arrived just behind her and she said,  Спасибо (Thank you), to which I replied, пожалуйста (You’re Welcome). 

And off I went, smiling in the wintery mix.  Satisfied that I’d done my good deed for the day…IN RUSSIAN!

4 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Awww, I’m always so proud of you when you give us these “survival” stories! Way to go!!

    :O)

  2. Ruth said,

    Right on!!

  3. not goth said,

    good job!

  4. sjsmart said,

    Спасибо (spaseeba) – Thank you!


Leave a Reply

