February 17, 2008

Check Yes or No!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 12:26 am by Jenn

ist2_408416_check_box.jpg

Maryland’s primary elections were Tuesday and I still hadn’t received my ballot.  My mom is an election official and emailed me on Wednesday with the reason…apparently I am registered as an “Unaffiliated Independent”…..WHAT? SINCE WHEN? 

The first opportunity I had to find out what the heck was going on was Friday.  I’m 7 hours ahead of the East Coast so I anxiously awaited the Prince George’s County Board of Election office opening so that I could get this all straightened out!   I got a very nice girl by the name of “Michelle”.  I gave her my name and told her that I was calling to check the status of my absentee ballot.  She looked me up in the computer and informed me that I was not able to vote in the primary election because I was registered as an Independent.  I told her that she must be mistaken.  I had registered to vote back in high school as a Republican and voted in every Primary and General election since that time.  She then told me that she had no voting history for me……WHAT?

By now I was fuming!  I insisted that I had registered to vote as a Republican and that someone had changed my affiliation without my knowledge and that I wanted someone to look in to it.  She told me that she would have to pull my original registration card and call me back.  I asked when I could expect her call and she told me in an hour.

That was a tense hour.  I was ranting and raving about my constitutional rights and all sorts of things.  The hour came and went and I decided to let it go an hour and a half and then call back. 

I get Michelle back on the phone and she tells me that she has my original card in front of her and that I didn’t check any party affiliation.  I told her that just couldn’t be.  I distinctly remember choosing to be a Republican in 9th grade Civics class – I remember checking in on voting day at both Primary and General Elections and seeing Republican next to my name… she and I went back and forth for a while and finally she told me that she would have to check another database to see if she could find a voting history… apparently there are 2 databases…maybe my history was in the other database.  In the meantime I told her that I would try to locate my Voter Registration Card which I clearly remember saying REP.  

I found the card and sure enough, there it was in capital letters, plain as day…REP.  Then I noticed something that made a lightbulb click….my MAIDEN name.  I had her looking under my married name.  No wonder there was no voting history, I haven’t voted since I’ve been married.  The last time I voted was in November 2004, under my married name. 

I get Michelle back on the phone and explain to her what I think is the problem and she agrees, yes….that is indeed what has happened.  My records have not been merged….why I asked?  I filled out the form at the MVA for a new drivers license due to name change and requested that the change be made to my voter registration.   She asked if I also checked the box that said for my name to be changed on the voter registration….I couldn’t remember.  She said I must not have because they created a new registration for me in my married name rather than editting the registration made in my maiden name….

 End result, because I did not check that box (allegedly) I am not able to vote in the primary election even though we have established that I indeed did meet the deadline for requesting an absentee ballot, and I am a registered Republican and therefore eligible to vote in the primary elections….why, because I failed to check some stupid box at the MVA and requested the absentee ballot in my married name and not my maiden name.  What a crock of shit!  Excuse my French!  Just one more reason why changing my name after 35 years was a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

