April 2, 2008

T Minus Well We Really Don’t Know and Crying

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:27 pm by Jenn

moving-002.jpg

Well the day is finally here.  The day when I once again get to sit amongst the cardboard boxes with my name written all over them and read the contents, varying by room of course. 

Now don’t think you’ve missed anything.  I don’t know for sure that I’m moving.  I just need to be ready to go “just in case”.  So here I am in Minsk, Belarus, surrounded by boxes, maybe, possibly moving, to maybe, possibly one of a variety of countries on the continent of Africa, India, Georgia, Sri Lanka, the Ukraine, Quantico, Va., “We’re not sure yet”. 

Um, just when do you think the best time to tell someone where they moving to would be?  My vote is for NOW!  Do you want to know why?  Well, maybe I’d like to know what to pack, maybe I’d like to get a vaccination (or two), a mammogram or even a pap smear before I head off to BUM FUCK EGYPT (that isn’t an option as far as I know, but I’ve probably just cursed myself).  Once again, I repeat – NOW would be a good thing.  Oh, and by the way, if you care at all what I want to do, I would like to go to Quantico so that I can get a mammogram, a pap smear and a JOB!  Thank you!

So now I feel better and if I haven’t scared you off with my Ativan induced babble (not really, but that may be necessary later in the week) I’d like to share with you one of the funny moments of the day:

moving-001-2.jpg

I’m not rotating the view because I want you to experience this just the way I did.  In my kitchen is this huge boxed labeled as you see above.  I looked once, twice, three times and then this happened:

Me : что это? meaning  What is this?
Mover: Это кабинет. meaning It is a cabinet.
Me: That’s as much as my language skills would allow – Why does it say comode?
Mover: It is a cabinet with drawers.
Me: Laughing…
Mover: Looking puzzled
Me: In English, commode is toilet.
Mover: (Turning red) Are you sure?
Me: Laughing… POSITIVE!
Mover: Still red, but laughing
Now to bring you up to speed…a few weeks ago the US Embassy was asked by the Belarusian government to reduce it’s American staff to 17.  We did that.  Now we are being asked to reduce even further.  We are preparing for that. 
There’s an old saying, “Prepare for the worst and hope for the best”.  That applies in this situation.  Stay tuned…
12 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Very anxious here to see what happens, and very sorry that you have to sit around with the boxes. Hopefully you left the tape off the one with the YARN in it. I hear that stuff relaxes ya!

    :O)

  2. oh, i feel for you. i can’t even imagine! i agree they should tell now!!

  3. wineymomma said,

    I hate the hurry up and wait game that the government plays with us!

    I hope you get your wish!

  4. Mom said,

    To add to your other boxes a package came here today in your name o/o me from Dee E____. I find it curious that the packing of boxes in my life began in Colorado Springs which is where Dee lives. I am so anxious to find out where you will be. I think on a very personal basis that the school at Quantico would be just great!!!! Love to you both-and Max.

  5. wineymomma said,

    Oh mom!!!! Colorado Springs…you too?!?!?

  6. Jenn said,

    WM- My parents met in Colorado Springs! They were both in the Air Force and stationed there way back when. I think that was her first duty station after Basic Training.

    What a coincidence that your package arrived today! MAIL DAY! I love surprises and I love that you were my partner. I can’t wait to get my hands on that box. LOL

  7. rhoda said,

    ugh..i couldn’t live with that kind of uncertainty! I’m hoping you’re headed for Quantico too. 😉

  8. Jenn said,

    I did manage to save out a few yarn projects…just in case. Also this move we aren’t getting our “express shipment”, so I made sure to have enough to do wherever we may land. I have several baby projects for Emilie and plenty of sock yarn…still need to do the two sock thing, I have started but really need to concentrate so now isn’t the time for that project.

    Thanks for all the well wishes and support. This post was written at the end of a very stressful day. I’m feeling much better today and now I’m off to blog about it!

  9. notgoth said,

    I love that your mum comes from where Dee is – i love that random connection thing.

    I can’t imagine what life must be like for you right now – I only lived out of a suitcase in limbo once and nearly went mad!

    I hope that you find out soon where you are off to and hoping its somewhere super cool. Is that Georgia the country or Georgia in USA?! xo

  10. Ruth said,

    Oh Jenn —– I’m finally catching up on my reading today — HOW STRESSFULL!!!!

    How is Max coping?

    I’m sending lots of positive thoughts that you’re happy w/ the outcome. I’m glad you have a sunny day today. oxR

  11. kileigh7 said,

    Oh, I so hope you’re headed for Quantico! You need to come back stateside…but I know it’s not your choice…

    Breathe, and keep doing it, and you’ll make it through. I know you will 🙂

  12. sjsmart said,

    Max is dealing with things. We packed a suitcase for him with all of his toys and dog treats. It hasn’t seemed to occur to him yet that he may be getting in his pen and going underneath the plane again very soon!

    I’m doubting we’ll be so lucky to go to Quantico, especially since Scott isn’t pushing for it. It would be nice, but I’m not going to hold my breath!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

