April 18, 2008

TGIF

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 8:51 pm by Jenn

This is a picture (ok, so the picture isn’t cooperating me tonight, so there is no picture to insert right now…maybe tomorrow) of the flowers just through the front gate of the embassy.  This picture was taken earlier in the week by one of my co-workers.  The weather has been to cold for the tulips this week so they aren’t looking very pretty now, but at least we got to enjoy them for a few day.

Well, we’ve made it through another week here in Belarus.  We celebrated the end of the week with a nice embassy wide cookout.  We had shashlik (which is basically meat grilled on skewers), and veggies.  Anya, one of the ladies who cleans at the embassy made an awesome veggie dip from sour cream, mayonaisse, fresh dill, garlic and cheese.  I was AWESOME!  Did I already say that?  I think everyone had a good time.  I know everyone liked the food because there were absolutely NO leftovers, so I guess that was a good thing.  It’s a shame the weather wasn’t better today.  It was tolerable with a coat, about 48F.  It was cloudy and we did feel occassional raindrops.

I inquired about going to the Circus this weekend, only to find out that it’s closed until May.  Hopefully well be around long enough for me to see it.  There’s also a village that I’d like to visit.  Kind of a live museum of life in Belarus.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some sunshine for that one.

 

3 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    Glad to hear you had fun at the cookout! Sounds delicious. I look forward to seeing the pics soon! It’s about 70ish today here and you know that’s a BIG deal in Cleveland. I hope you get warmer weather soon!

  2. Pam said,

    Hey Jen –

    Glad to here you are having some nice socials to keep your mind off of all the craziness. It was in the 80’s here today. Email your Aunt Sonyja some time and send her a link to your blog. I’m sure she would like to hear about all your goings on.
    Love ya alot.

    Pam

  3. Heather said,

    STILL no word? Well, I’ll take pics of your package here today so that should be a little something of interest! Look for it soon!

    :O)


Leave a Reply

