April 25, 2008

Saying “пока”

Posted in Journal, Purls of Wisdom tagged , , , , , , at 9:13 pm by Jenn

TGIF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Friday, but there’s no game night tonight.  There’s no one left to have game night with.  Olga did come by tonight to bring some chocolate and to say goodbye.  She’s leaving for vacation tomorrow and I most likely will not see her again. 

It’s funny, I never anticipated how I would react to saying goodbye to the friends I’ve made here in Belarus, my local friends.  It was hard.  We hugged, we exchanged emails and we said “пока”…that’s Russian for goodbye.  Of course as soon as I closed the door I was bawling like a baby!  WOW, where did that come from?

So it seems as though our time here in Belarus is coming to a close, though we still don’t know for sure.  Our host government has asked that the American Embassy here in Belarus reduce it’s American staff yet AGAIN.  With the numbers they’ve suggested it’s more likely than not that Scott and I will be leaving.  I’ve got a few more pictures to take and of course I didn’t make it to all of the places I’d hope to have visited while I was here.  I am extremely disappointed about the timing of all of this.  My parents were due to visit NEXT WEEK!

In knitting news I ventured to my LYS (local yarn stall) today and actually had a decent conversation (of course it consisted of …how much is this?  do you have yarn made from flax?  do I knit with one strand or two?  I’m making a bag, knitting, not crochet and may I have 3 skeins please?) with the shop owner….in RUSSIAN.  I was impressed with my skills and of course she was too.  Funny, that the conversation ended with her speaking ENGLISH to me.  LOL.  It always amazes me that once you really attempt to learn the language they decide that they want to practice their English on you….She would talk to me in English and I would answer her in Russian.  I ended up with 3 skeins of a cotton/viscose blend in an off white, not quite beige color.  I’m going to make a market bag.  I saw one made from linen the other day while out shopping and it was really nice.  I thought about buying it, but thought to myself….”why when I can make it”….then I thought…”Oh, my God I’m turning in to my mother”.  LOL  Now, my task is going to be to finish the darn thing before Tuesday.  I need to get it to Anya to have her put a liner in for me.  Since my time here is limited I don’t want to pass up the opportunity to utilize Anya’s skills.  She is a WONDERFUL seamstress. 

In other news, I’ve done it again.  I said I wasn’t but I caved.  I’ve decided to join the HSKS5.  Sign ups aren’t officially until next week, but I’ve been on the Ravelry group forum chatting away and it really seems like it will be more fun for me this time around.  I’m going to change houses though.  I’m going to venture to the dark side I think and put Slytherin as my first house choice, followed by Ravenclaw then Hufflepuff.  I just may be the only person on the planet who doesn’t want to be a Gryffindor!  I guess good old FDH burned me out on the red and gold!  LOL

Finally, I have to have some medical care (routine, nothing serious) that cannot be provided here in Belarus so I’ll be going to Germany for a few days soon.  I’m going to try to meet up with a Ravelry friend while I’m there.  We’re hoping to meet for beer and pretzels (and yarn shopping of course).  I have been told to pack my elastic pants!  LOL

Well that’s all I have for now.  I’ll keep you all posted on the “status” of the situation here as more information is available.

 

8 Comments »

  1. wineymomma said,

    Bummer on game night! I always hate saying goodbye and it seems like that’s all I do lately…

    Still knitting on a pair of crazy slipper socks for a friend…next VT colored slipper socks for my mom!

    And you are not the only person who doesn’t want to be Gryffindor—I like Ravenclaw!

    Have fun in Germany! Elastic pants 😆

    I hope you guys get some closure soon!

  2. i read plastic pants and was a little worried for you!!! 🙂

    i can’t even imagine the frustration of not knowing every single detail, ugh. that would drive me bonkers. and having to say goodbye when you feel like you’ve just said hello – no fun at all.

    i hope you have a great time in germany with your elastic pants!

  3. not Goth said,

    LOL elastic pants. I assume you mean trousers right?

    I hope so. Thinking of you!

  4. Heather said,

    Awww, your Russian was just gettin’ good! I wonder how many languages you’ll have under your (elastic) belt by the time you wind up on US soil permanently again???

    :O)

  5. to get your mind off of things i’ve tagged you. the meme is over here. i know, you’re thinking, “if this is help, i don’t need it.” 🙂

  6. sjsmart said,

    NG – Definitely elastic waistband…not rubber/plastic pants like babies wear! LOL

    Heather – I really hope we go to another Russian speaking post next. I’d hate to have all these lessons go to waste. I think English, semi-Russian and semi-Spanish is plenty!

    We should have some sort of answer on Wednesday (the are we leaving answer). The where are we going answer may still take a few days after that…

  7. Ruth said,

    An answer by Wednesday . . . I hope so. I just don’t know how you’ve been able to stand it living w/ all of your “stuff” boxed up for so long.

    Good luck w/ the medical trip. I’m glad you’re able to fit some “elastic pants, beer drinking fun” into the trip. Are the pretzels you mention big & soft? Take a picture for us. I’d love to vicariously have German pretzels through you.

  8. sjsmart said,

    I will make sure to take a picture of the pretzels. The one’s I had last time weren’t overly big, but my friend Inga told me this past weekend that they make them “LARGE” – the kind you have to hold with two hands. That’s what I’m looking for this trip! That’s where the elastic pants come in! LOL


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

