May 14, 2008

Iron Man

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 9:59 pm by Jenn

 

I went to the movies tonight (alone of course as my husband has no taste in movies and opted to stay at the hotel).   There are actually several movies that I want to see right now…Indiana Jones, Fools Gold, Horton, What Happens in Vegas and Iron Man.  I opted for Iron Man tonight and think I’m going back to see Fool’s Gold tomorrow.

So Iron Man was good, but I was a little disappointed.  There was so much press saying how good the movie was and that it was the “best” comic book movie ever so I was ready for a much better show.  Don’t get me wrong, the movie was good, but not GREAT!  Robert Downey, Jr is almost unrecognizable as the Robert Downey Jr that I remember.  Gwenyth Paltrow is just ok, but definitely no award for this role. 

The worst part of the whole movie was that I had to once again settle for popcorn with butter flavor and NO Milk Duds.  No wonder Europeans aren’t fat like us americans!

A few days ago a friend was debating whether or not to take her daughter with another mom (and her kids) to see this movie.  I’m so glad she decided not to go along with this other mom.  This movie is definitely rated appropriately.  PG – 13. 

5 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Heather and Zac are going to see Speed Racer this weekend!!

  2. wineymomma said,

    Speed Racer was good but there is some bad language in it that is completely for the shock value. And Mathew Fox was quite the surprise—not his normal Dr. Jack/Party of Five self!

    I am glad I didn’t opt for Iron Man! Usually we can get by with pg13 but with RD Jr. in it I figured it would be over the top!

    Horton was fabulous and I am not a fan of either of the mlain players in it but i was really good!

  3. Heather said,

    Woohoo! Thanks for the movie review. Zac was trying to tell me he was going to see this movie (as if he can go without me – or at least Doug). I told him I didn’t think so, and that I’d have to “check into it.” So, I’ll tell him Auntie Jenn says it’s not a good idea right now. It’ll have to go on the shelf like Spiderman3. He IS going to see Speed Racer this weekend – hopefully with a friend or two from school Didja know Matthew Fox is the bad guy in that one? Can’t wait!!

    :O)

  4. sjsmart said,

    I forgot all about Speed Racer. That isn’t in the theater her yet I guess. I want to see that one too.

    I hear that videos are readily available for purchase on the Black Market in Baku.

    Sure Heather – go ahead and make me the bad guy. LOL

  5. wineymomma said,

    NONONONONONONO…Matthew Fox is not the bad guy in it!!! He is the super-sexy-tortured-behind-the-scenes-hero-guy!!!

    I think he is the eye candy for mommies really but whatever works!


Leave a Reply

