June 11, 2008

Finally Connected

Posted in Journal tagged , at 4:09 pm by Jenn

The day has finally arrived!  That’s right.  We’ve got an internet connection of our very own now.  FINALLY!  I can’t believe how disconnected I’ve felt over the past month without being able to read all my favorite blogs, email, Facebook, MySpace, Ravelry and just plain surf and shop.  WOW.  I think I was having withdrawal symptoms.   

Scott decided that we are not going to extend here in Baku (thank goodness).  We will complete our time here and rotate as planned next spring (I think that’s the plan anyway).

I interviewed two housekeepers yesterday and really had a hard time decided which one to hire.  I finally just decided to do what made the most sense and that was to let Max pick.  He really liked the second woman – Irada the best.  He sat right next to her on the couch and licked her right in the mouth!  She didn’t even flinch.  That’s a good sign!  As she was leaving she reached down and rubbed his head and said “Nice to meet you Max (in Russian of course).  He loved her.

I had lunch with the Mafia yesterday.  We are having a baby shower for one of the members on Friday.  I ordered yarn to make a baby blanket, but it hasn’t arrived yet.  I didn’t want to show up empty handed so I bought a couple of onesie sleepers with matching shorts.  They are so cute.  Kriszti (mom to be) doesn’t know what she’s having and doesn’t like pink so I’m sticking with greens and yellows, unless of course my stash arrives before the ordered yarn and then it will match the picture in the pattern with the dark trim.

Ok, I’ve got some serious catching up to do so I’m ending this for now, but I WILL be back tomorrow!

5 Comments »

  1. Ruth said,

    Congratulations! I’m really looking forward to seeing pics of Baku!

  2. not Goth said,

    A wise decision letting Max decide. I was wondering how easy it has been to take him in / out these countries.. does he have a Pet passport?

  3. sjsmart said,

    Stay tuned for the pictures.

    Max does have a pet passport. He doesn’t have the EU one yet…the biggest hassle has been the paperwork because you have to have the current health certificate and each country requires a different time frame. Belarus didn’t honor the 3 year rabies shot so we had to get him ANOTHER rabies shot to get him exported from Belarus to Lithuania so that we could then bring him to Baku!

  4. Carola said,

    So glad to see you back online again, Jenn! Missed your regular updates and photos!

  5. Eva said,

    Nice job, Max! We started letting Curtis pick contractors earlier this year, and he hasn’t steered us wrong yet.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

