June 22, 2008

Don’t Blame it on the Dog

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 1:19 pm by Jenn

Friday when I came home from running errands with the mafia I was greeted by a not so pleasant aroma when I opened the front door.  Immediately, I started looking for the mess.  The dog mess that is.  Then I realized, wait a minute, if Max did that he wouldn’t have greeted me a the door wagging his tail and showing off his prized boney!  He would be in hiding!  Now I’m confused.  Is Scott home?  Nope.  WHAT IS THAT SMELL?!

I walk in to the laudry room…nothing.  I walk in to the hall bathroom, faint odor…not the source.  I walk in to the master bathroom….EUREKA!  The smell was awful.  Like gag reflex triggering horrid!  Who could have done this?  I called Scott at work to tell him that our house smells like shit.  He says, “I’m in the middle of my language lesson”.  My response, “Well ask her how to say, my house smells like shit”.  His reply….laughter.  This is NOT FUNNY!  He tells me to call the head of maintenance.  I do.

This man answers, I tell him who I am and say just matter of factly because there is no polite way to put it…”I came home from shopping and my house smells like crap”.  He says, Yeah, that’s normal…..um, NO it isn’t normal for my house to smell like crap….maybe his house, but not mine!  He then tells me that what I am smelling is the sewer (really?) and that I need to keep the drains in my bathrooms filled with bleach water so that the vapors from the sewer don’t enter the room!  Hmm, why didn’t anyone tell me this before?  This little bit of information would have saved me just a little bit of stress.

The good thing.  I now know how to say “My house smells like shit” in Russian!  LOL  Good Grief.

 

4 Comments »

  1. we have a similar problem… but no one can tell us where it comes from or what it is. it just wafts through the air intermittently all day long. and stinks. alot.

  2. Jen D said,

    WHAT?! Oh, it’s just not right! Better invest in Clorox…

  3. Ruth said,

    Wow! This is awful! I’m glad there’s a remedy. I wonder if you should start wearing flip flops in the shower to protect your feet from the build up of bleach that may occur. Not to give you something new to worry about or anything.
    Good luck!

  4. sjsmart said,

    TM – Is the smell inside or outside? Hopefully outside. I’m still sick about your Love Puppy loss by the way. I’m keeping a look out for you on Ebay!

    Ruth – The good thing is that this sewage drain isn’t in the shower it’s on the floor just outside of the shower so no need to worry about bleach bulid up. I do have shower shoes though, but I reserve them for the gym!

    Jen – I’m buying stock TODAY.


Leave a Reply

