June 24, 2008

Out Brown Grout, Out I Say!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:30 pm by Jenn

  Ok, so I didn’t rotate the picture!  Sorry, just hang in there…

I spent the better part of Sunday on my hands and knees with a bucket of bleach and water scrubbing other peoples filth out of the tile floors in my house.  Not exactly how I would have liked to spend my Sunday, but it needed to be done and I couldn’t stand looking at the brown grout anymore.  It would be one thing if the tile were brown, brown grout might be kind of cool, but with white tile, the grout should be white, not brown!

I started in my bathroom and well it’s just too stained to really come clean, but it is cleaner and the fact that I know there has been bleach all over the floor just makes me feel better.  Scott’s bathroom was next and surprisingly it came pretty clean, but there were a few areas that had no grout at all and other areas where the grout was coming out and needed to be replaced.  The laundry room is good and the kitchen…well the kitchen just simple isn’t cool.

Most of the tiles are cracked, most of the grout is missing or just simply was never there to begin with.  I asked Scott to say something to the Facilities people and today there were tile people in my house regrouting Scott’s bathroom and discussing the plan for the kitchen.  The decision, rip it out and do it right!  Amen! 

The leader says to me, “Now you know that this is a messy job, and you will be with out your kitchen for a few days”.  Yes, I know it’s messy and I say…”How many days?  Two or three?  His reply “7 or 8”.  LOL, 7 or 8 days to tear up and replace the tile in a not even 12×12 space.  Yet again confirmation that I’m “not in Kansas anymore”. 

Here’s proof:

I’m fascinated by this.  I’ve posted this picture before but today it was clear and I zoomed in and you can really see the trash!  It’s like they collect it or something.  Again, those things on top of the blue tarp are rocks to hold the blue tarp down.  I wonder if they got rid of satellite tv how long it would take to save up to repair the roof?

On a brighter note, my HSKS5 package is ready to send off to it’s lucky owner, now I just need to figure out how to use the mail system…

And the best news…my HSKS4 partner Daniellesent me the most awesome goody package from Louisiana.  Here’s a pic of the goodies:

 

Jambalaya, Gumbo, Beignet’s, spoonbread, coffee and seasoning.  Life doesn’t get much better than this.  I have a ton of chicken in the freezer and I’m going to try to find some good sausage and then dinner is served!  Scott is really looking forward to the beignets (I am too).  Thanks so much Danielle, you ROCK, and you made my day!

Time for LOST!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    We took that very kind of Beignet mix to the beach. I forgot to take the powdered sugar though. They were excellent.
    Hope you find your sausage!.

  2. Ruth said,

    Jenn – I’m currently watching Lost on DVD – I’m in Season 3 – just finished episode 16…..it’s starting to get good again. FUN! I can’t wait to catch up to you in Season 4!! If you need to discuss online – please announce, “spoiler alert” – deal?

    I too think that blue tarp building is amazing. I forget, is this a view from our buliding? Can you meet the residents? What a post that would be!

  3. Ruth said,

    Oops – FREUDIAN SLIP: funny how I said “our building” …. My Baku residence & all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

