July 9, 2008

More Flag Talk

Posted in Journal tagged , at 10:49 pm by Jenn

I started this as a comment to yesterday’s post, but it started to become WAY to lengthy so I decided it deserved it’s own space, so here it is.

I started to become obsessed with the way people display the US flag when my husband was deployed to Iraq last year.  We lived just outside of Camp Lejeune in a small fishing village called Sneads Ferry.  It was a fishing village but a large part of the population was either active duty or retired military – a majority of them veterans. 

This area in North Carolina sees a lot of wind from tropical storms and hurricanes.  After one tropical storm I started to notice that there were several US flags around the city and town that were damaged.  Over the course of the next several weeks most of the flags were replaced, with the exception of two.  Two that I passed everyday.  The first on the way out of the neighborhood, this guy (previous military service) had a flag mounted to his house.  The flag had become twisted around the pole and then became torn from being thrashed around.  It stayed this way for MONTHS.  Many military men and women lived in the neighborhood, no one said a thing.  This guy had no respect for his neighbors, no respect for himself and obviously no respect for the flag.  Finally after I just couldn’t stand it anymore I wrote a note and put it in his mailbox.  Three weeks later there was a new flag flying.

The second flag flew over the Sneads Ferry Post Office.  The same post office that I went to EVERY Saturday morning to mail a care package (or 2) to my husband who was deployed to Iraq.  The last thing I wanted to see was a torn American Flag on a Federal Bldg, during this time.  I first noticed the tears after the storm so I gave it a little while.  After a few weeks when it still hadn’t been repaired I said something to the female clerk.  She looked clueless so I waited til Monday morning and called.  The gentleman that I spoke to assured me that he would take care of it.  The next day on my way to work there was a new flag.   

I have since acquired two US flags of my own….the first from 3rd Battalion, 2nd Marines dedicated to me by my husband for my support of him and the troops during their deployment.  It was flow over their base in Iraq.   The second flown over the US Embassy in Minsk during that period of political uncertainty I spoke about from March-May.  When we return to the states I plan to have display cases made and display these flags proudly in my home.

Anyway, I really don’t care if people wear flags on their shirts or flag pins or hats with flags, blah blah blah.  Just don’t write on them, throw them on the ground, or display them improperly.  Just show a little respect for it.  Thank you!

6 Comments »

  1. notgoth said,

    Ratty American flags left hanging out there looking sorry for themselves irritate me as well. If you are going to have protocol for a flag then you should follow it – otherwise what is the point of having the rules in the first place?!

  2. Eva said,

    Funny you should mention this now. Just yesterday I was dropping off some old towels at the pound when I had to instruct a couple of women raising flags that, no, the California flag doesn’t fly above the US flag — nothing does. . .ever.

  3. thanks for this post… it’s very good!!

    growing up in texas, the state that is all that ;), we were told that the tx was the only state in the union that could fly ir’a flag higher than the american flag. cuz tx is a republic and all that and at any moment could just break away and be it’s own country. of course, as an adult, i now know that’s not true. but i bet a good deal of texans believe that it is.

    and… i want to live in sneads ferry someday. just so i can write an address with it. it sounds so, well, quaint.

  4. Mom said,

    I didn’t know that you had another flag. I am sure that the new one was well earned just as the first one. I know that ours is VERY special to me.

  5. sjsmart said,

    NG – I like your ravatar!

    Good work Eva. People really don’t have a clue about flag protocol – especially those texans! : )

    Sneads Ferry is a beautiful little town! I am working on organizing my web album today so hopefully I’ll be able to provide a link a little later on.

    Mom – “The Final Fifteen” were all awarded flags for their service.

  6. Very nice!!


Leave a Reply

