July 13, 2008

The Old City

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 5:05 pm by Jenn

Scott figured out my new camera for me today so here are some long overdue pictures of the Old City in Baku, Azerbaijan.  The Old City is an ancient city dating back to the 12th century and possibly even the 7th.  The Old City is stone walled city with gates.

        * see side note

 * Side note – I should probably point out that in this picture of the wall and what appears to be a parking lot, this is actually supposed to be two way traffic, but because people in Baku have no respect for traffic laws, themselves, or others this is the result.  MASS CONFUSION.  Notice the parking spaces, well you couldn’t park if you wanted to because you can’t get to the spaces.  Oh, and this is supposed to be two lanes – one going in each direction – the best I can tell, this became 5 lanes, 4 going the wrong direction.  The 1st picture was taken on a different day, notice one car and the stripes in the middle of the road indicating two lanes, one in each direction!   —- end side note.*

One of the most notable landmarks in the Old City is the Maiden Tower.  The Maiden Tower is a magnificent stone structure that I haven’t had the courage to explore inside yet, but I have admired it from the outside (perhaps this will be the location of my first cache placement?) 

      

The Maiden Tower used to be located on the shore of the Caspian Sea, but is now separated from the Caspian by a busy city street called “The Boulevard”.  Today the Old City is primarily made up of apartments, carpet vendors and restaurants. 

     

Here are a few pictures taken late evening to show the pretty colored lights that illuminate the tower after dark.

    

 

5 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    How interesting. I’d definitely explore that tower! Take Scott with you! Are the people in the picture on the left looking at Max????

    :O)

  2. sjsmart said,

    Nope, not Max. We don’t take him EVERYWHERE with us. : )

    That was a poodle type dog if I’m not mistaken. I was actually very surprised to see it. You really don’t see too many people walking dogs here.

    The Maiden Tower area is safe enough to explore alone. Scott’s afraid of heights so any exploring and roof top observing I’ll be doing solo. He’ll wait for me outside! LOL

  3. Ruth said,

    Wow – this is AMAZING! I’m so happy you’re having adventures like this.

  4. Eva said,

    Sushi and coffee? Hmmm, don’t think I would have put that together on my own.

    It must be amazing to see such old buildings. Unless you count Indian mounds in Illinois, I’ve never seen anything older than a few hundred years. It must be hard to imagine what sort of life went on in there when those buildings were new.

    Thanks for the pictures, especially of the textiles. I love the geometric patterns they use over there, as seen on both the carpets and the ironwork on the buildings.

  5. sjsmart said,

    Eva – That is exactly why I took a picture of the sign….EWW! This restaurant was actually the reason for our trip to the Old City on this evening, but it was closed for a private event so stay tuned!

    There are so many carpet shops all over the city. It is typical to go in to a shop and to be in there for hours. They invite you to have tea, they explain the different patterns and history of carpet making in Azerbaijan. We have purchased one new carpet, handmade from silk and cotton. I’m sure there will be many more purchases in the coming months.

    Ruth – I’m looking in to doing a walking tour of the city. There are so many old buildings, but I don’t know what they are so I haven’t taken pictures. Doing a day tour would make me appreciate it so much more.


Leave a Reply

