July 16, 2008

All About Town

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 8:10 am by Jenn

Well not really all about it, but some more pictures of around town.

First I want to start with a few pictures of the Azeri National Bird.  You’ve heard me mention it before, I think I even posted a picture, but somehow I really don’t think you have grasped the seriousness of the problem.  We are being OVER RUN by these things.  Here’s proof:

  

We saw this flock on our drive out to find a new restaurant that we’d heard about.   Once you get past the initial shock of the Azeri National Bird plastic bags the scenery at times is really beautiful.

One of the prettiest areas near the Old City is called Fountain Square (it’s also the most crowded).  When you are in this area you really feel like you are in Europe. Here you will find shopping, restaurants and entertainment (movie theaters, go-carts, bars, people watching, etc). 

      

There is also that animal population that I’ve talked about.  You cannot enjoy a meal outside because you see things like this:

  or this

It really breaks my heart to see so many homeless animals.  These two were very playful and entertaining so it wasn’t quite as heartbreaking.  They even managed to score a few morsels from the table behind us and somehow some of Scott’s (he who doesn’t like cats) calamari ended up behind him on the ground….hmmm.  We were eating at the Mediterranea restaurant near the Maiden Tower and did have entertainment provided by some local musicians during dinner.  I’m not quite sure what type of music it was, it had kind of an Islamic, Mediterranean/Caribbean sound to it….anyway, it was fun and the atmosphere made me forget I was in Baku (except for the wind). 

Other animal sightings are just plain bizarre,

   

These are two different groups (flocks) of sheep.  I had heard abou them but never seen them until this day that I took Allison for a walk to our new local market.

Well, at least now the Mystery of “Where’d That Poop Come From” has been answered.

Other animal sightings however are simply to keep me entertained.  Poor Max.  Stay tuned for those pics.  The subject is not being cooperative right now… : )

3 Comments »

  1. notgoth said,

    great photos – thanks for posting! It makes me so so sad about the animals 😦

  2. notgoth said,

    I hit submit before I completed my comment (doh). What they need is a charity like FixNation.org based here in Los Angeles who basically capture and neuter stray cats which helps to keep the number of ferals down. I love dogs but cats really have my heart.

  3. aziemniak said,

    Looks like a beautiful place despite the plastic bags, although they are a bummer to see everywhere.


Leave a Reply

