July 28, 2008

Fish! It was for dinner.

Posted in Journal at 10:45 pm by Jenn

 

Scott and I were invited to a Welcome dinner tonight at the Ambassador’s residence.  These things usually aren’t our cup of tea, but we decided to make the most of it and go.  I’m glad we did.  When we arrived we were greeted with a jeweled filled treasure chest and instructed to pick one gem (anything but a diamond).  I initially chose an emerald and then this beautiful metallic blue gem caught my eye and I changed my gem. 

We had cocktails and conversation and then the Ambassador arrived and made her opening remarks…we were told that when we arrived we all picked a gem and that the seating arrangements were based on those gems…we were to find a seat at any table with a gem on the place card that corresponded with the gem that we had chosen.  FUN.  Scott had a ruby red stone and off he went.  The seat with a blue metallic stone that I first saw  was taken so I was now searching for another seat.  Funny, the seat I saw next was right next to Scott.  I was making my way there when that seat was taken.  Ok, now to find another seat……hmmm, 3 chairs left.  Nope, Nope, hmmm….right next to the Ambassador.  Yep, that was my seat.  If you are going to attend these things you might as well sit right next to the host!

There was actually some really interesting conversation at our table.  We talked about all sorts of things from history of Azerbaijan to military aircraft to geocaching!  Yes, I mentioned geocaching and the Ambassador thought it was a great idea and suggested that I make an article about if for the Baku Beat newsletter.  She agreed that it would be a great way to get people out and about to explore the city/country.

Anyway, dinner was fabulous.  There was the usual dinner table confusion of “is that my bread plate or your bread plate”.  But rather than cause embarrassment I usually just wait until everyone is eating and then ask someone to pass me the bread plate on their left.  The shuffle ensues and the meal continues. 

The first course was a beet dish.  Warm sliced beets on a bed of carmelized onions, topped with grated fresh parmesean cheese.  YUM!

The second course was just as good.  It was baked and consisted of 50 cent piece sized pieces of eggplant topped with cheese, then tomato then eggplant then cheese then tomato then cheese.  Drizzled with olive oil and dabs of pesto to garish the plate.  YUMMO!

Next was the main course.  FISH! Served with a white rice/pea mixture.  Ok, I hadn’t had fish since that one time in Belarus when we went to Serge’s house and his wife made fish in foil for us.  I have been craving fish.  I’ve been leary to buy it because I just am not sure where to buy fish or what kind to buy.  This fish was baked and drizzled with some sort of creamy citrus sauce.   That with the rice/pea mixture was perfect.  Double YUMMO!  I commented to the Ambassador that this was the first time in months that I had fish and how outstanding it was.  She said that I would have to speak with Yura to find out where he bought the fish.  I agreed.

Next came dessert and just when I thought I couldn’t get any happier.  There it was.  Grapefruit sorbet.  Yep.  Homemade grapefuit sorbet.  Palette cleansing, if I would have been home I would have licked the plate kind of GOOD!  Amazing.  There was a scoop of sorbet in the middle of grapefruit wedges and crushed pecans.  Simple, freshing, FREAKING FANTASTIC.

So needless to say, I was thrilled with the dinner and before we left I went in to the kitchen to thank the chef and find out where he purchased the fish.  Funny, it came from New World which is a store that I go to all the time, look at the fish and pass it buy.  I guess next time I’ll be picking up a package of sole and seeing if I can do it up half as well as Yura.

9 Comments »

  1. wineymomma said,

    sounds FABULOUS!!!!

    Grapefruit sorbet!!! Oh super yum!

  2. Capi said,

    Ooooh, that sounds delicious! It sounds like you had a really fun night! I hope your fish escapades turn out just as tasty!

  3. sounds like it was a great decision to go! makes me want to get brave and buy some fish and figure out how to cook it…

  4. Christine said,

    Hey, nothing wrong with using your nutritionist background to go back and have Yura give you a cooking demo, just so you can get it right. Think of all your Omega-3 deficient clients, Jenn. They are counting on you. 🙂

  5. Heather said,

    That dinner sounds great – love the seating arrangement thing!

    How come we haven’t seen any “Gourmet” type photos of some red meat going across your dining room table – has it not been around long enough to even photograph before being consumed?

    :O)

  6. Ruth said,

    Wow! How exciting. Interesting way to seat the guests.

  7. sjsmart said,

    Hmmm, cooking lessons from Yura…There’s a thought. I’ll have to wait til the Ambassador’s away and maybe steal him for a couple of hours.

    No red meat consumed yet. But there is a high probability that there will be in the very near future (tomorrow night). I think I’m going to make Taco Salad. I have all my GOODS now so I’m ready to get cooking.

    My blood is going to love me – anemia reference, not cholesterol ; ).

  8. Jen D said,

    I swear I could taste that meal as I was reading! Wow.

  9. Mom said,

    That meal sounded wonderful. Did Scott have good conversation as well?


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

