July 31, 2008

Glamour High Heels

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:15 pm by Jenn

 

Participants in a high heel race wait for a start of the event ...

A special thanks to Ruth for giving me the heads up on this event – Moscow’s High Heel Race.  Yep, that’s right.  I swear people, I don’t make this stuff up.  Stilettos are EVERYWHERE in the Soviet Union and post soviet states.  I cannot believe they even have a race dedicated to the them, but apparently this in an annual event with around 100 participants this year and last.

Participants must have heels that are at least 9 centimeters high (3.5 inches).  OUCH!  The winner of the race wins a voucher worth 100,000 rubles which is approximately $4000!  This is double last years prize money.  I don’t think $4000 would even cover the xray, cast and crutches not to mention the rehab and therapy I would need if I even thought about participating in an event like this.

Now from what I saw there was no rule regulating clothing, but apparently the line of thinking for some participants was ‘if you are going to wear heals to a race you might as well wear your littlest black dress or perhaps a nightgown’.

I do have to hand it to this participant, at least she put some thought in to this and taped her shoes to her feet.

 Participants in a high heel race wait for a start of the event ...

And just in case you are just begging to see more here is the video.  GOOD GRIEF!

*editted to add* – The race is 80 meters long (about 262 feet or 80 yards), and although there were some falls, there were no injuries other than pride.  Oh, and no broken heels!  – end of edit*

By the way, our STUFF is here!  I’m almost finished with the unpacking and oohing and ahhing and then I’ll be back online.

8 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Heh. That’s funny. Kelly Ripa (of Regis and Kelly) did a race here like that, but it was to raise money for charity – so at least there was a good reason to kill your ankles!

    :O)

  2. yay that your stuff has arrived. i know how wonderful that is!!

    and i say start training now with the high heels and next year, you’ll be ready to take it on!! here it’s kitten heels. all the ladies where kitten heels. with everything. i teeter on those.

  3. Jen D said,

    Glad you got your stuff finally! The race…well…I have no words. Seriously. What is going on?

  4. Carola said,

    This race is funny! I know about it and they run it in Sweden too … LOL

    BTW, Jenn, I have tagged you if you want to play along.

  5. Ruth said,

    My ankles grimace just looking at the pictures. Yes, ankles CAN grimace. I’m glad you posted this story, Jenn. Thanks for researching the distance.

  6. sjsmart said,

    I guess these races are popular all over Europe. Apparently I didn’t get the memo.

  7. Carey said,

    I have the best pair of BCBGirls heels. I would have to try it out at least once.

  8. sjsmart said,

    What if you break one of those heels Carey? Don’t risk it! I will however let you stay with me if you decide to compete in next years race!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

