August 4, 2008

Connections

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:02 pm by Jenn

 

 

The internet and it’s ability to connect people never ceases to amaze me.  The possibilities these days are endless.  Through the internet I have met and continue to meet some amazing people, some of them through this blogsite, some through Ravelry and knitting swaps and one through Match.com. 

Some I have reconnected with, some I use the internet to stay connected with, some I’ve never met in person only exchanged comments back and forth on blogsites, others I’ve gotten to know through swapping yarn, and exchanging emails, some I plan to meet, one found me through a google search on “knitting and Baku”, one invited me to her home and took me yarn shopping in Germany and one I married.

When I was younger I used to love writing to and receiving letters from pen pals.  Unfortunately my mailbox doesn’t get that many handwritten letters these days (but it does get some really awesome packages), but my e-mail box and the comments section of my blog get lots of good stuff daily.  I get messages from all over the world (Australia, Thailand, Sweden, Belarus, Germany, the US). 

A couple of weeks ago I received a package from Laurawho I met through the Hot CoCoa Swap (I was her spoiler).  Laura sent me two bottles of Pink Grapefruit Foaming Hand Soap from Bath and Body Works as a Random Act of Kindness.  Now I have to pass on the love to someone else and I’ve picked that person (drum roll please…..)

CAROLA

I picked Carola because she’s cool!  I met her on Ravelry.  She gave me the inspiration to get out there and explore the Belarusian yarn stalls, she’s always doing nice things for people and it is through her blog that I was introduced to geocaching so I saw it only fitting to send some love her way….I’m going to mail the package this week….wonder how long it will take to get from Baku back to the states and then to Sweden ( I do not have the courage to attempt the local post office)?  Anyway, Carola…this RAK’s for you.  You are going to LOVE IT!

1 Comment »

  1. Carola said,

    Ooooooooooooh! 🙂 This is so exciting and sweet of you. I actually teared up a bit reading your message even though I knew you asked for my mailing addy and know something is coming. The sentiment is deeply appreciated.

    Now I gotta start thinking about whom I will do a RAK for! I have some ideas … *HUG*


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

