August 19, 2008

In God We Trust?

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:29 pm by Jenn

I received an email from my friend Carey today asking me to go over to MSNBC and take this surveyabout taking “In God We Trust” off of American currency.  I clicked, I chose and then I wondered….hmm, how long has it even been on there to begin with. 

So, me being me, I “googled” “In god we trust” and found this Fact Sheet from the US Treasury.

I was surprised to learn that on paper money these words appeared as recently as 1966, and that on some coins (did you know we used to have 2 and 3 cent coins) it has come and gone and come again.

If we took “In God We Trust” off the currency, what would we put on there in its place?  “Land of the Free”, “Home of the Brave”, “Freedom and Justice for All”.  If they took it off would anyone even notice? 

Did you know that “In God We Trust” is or national motto so why shouldn’t it be on our currency.  We Americans apparently just need something to bitch about.  Now I’m fired up.

In my opinion, there are real problems in the good old US of A that need major focus and attention.  I seriously doubt that spending millions of dollars (just my personal estimate) to remake currency molds and printing blocks is the best use of my tax money when there are MILLIONS of Americans (I remember reading recently over 30 million – and that was 2001 date I believe) who will be going to bed hungry tonight.

So where am I going with all of this?  I have no idea, but I do have a suggestion.  Anyone who wants “In God We Trust” removed from the US currency should take all of the money they physically possess right now (cash, money in piggy banks, loose change, etc.) to their local food bank and from now on only use plastic.  This way, not only will you be rid of the offending currency, Americans in need will benefit.

Ok, I’m getting off my soapbox now and going to watch House.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.