September 2, 2008

Reading Again

Posted in Journal at 4:11 pm by Jenn

I used to love to read…that was before I met Scott. With Scott around it’s darned near impossible to concentrate on anything because he’s always talking. I liked to read in bed at night before I went to sleep, but again with Scott that’s darned near impossible because he likes to watch TV…I need quiet to read.

With all this free time on my hands these days I’ve rediscovered reading. Nothing too scientific, deep or philosophical, just mindless and fun and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. I’ve read the first in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich and plan to read the next one on the plane to Germany later this week. I also decided to see what all the hype was about and ordered the first book of the Twilight Saga, Twilight.

The book arrived last Wednesday night and I finished it on Friday. Since then I’ve completed the secon book – New Moon which I finished in just over 24 hours and I’m now two thirds of the way through the third book – Eclipse. I’m hooked. I can’t wait to start Breaking Dawn, book 4.

I should probably be reading something more scientific, something related to the field of nutrition to keep my mind sharp, but that stuff is boring! I needed something to wake up my brain.

Now that my brain is awake I’ve been considering taking some online classes….hmmm.

Only two more days until we leave for Germany. I’m getting so excited to get out of Baku, get to Germany and to see my parents!

I’m sure we will be taking the laptop with us so I may post a picture or two, maybe even one of me discovering my first geocache! Won’t that be awesome. I am making a little travel bug that I hope to place in a cache while I’m there, the trick is finding the cache….

Stay tuned.

9 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    have a great time with your parents! sounds so fun! i’d love to see a pic of your geocaching too, very interested in seeing that:)

  2. wineymomma said,

    There are 3 books I have read recently that I really liked…all 3 have recipes in them so they are technically nutrition related…You could look at the recipes in them to see how incredibly rich and fattening they are!

    Dark Torte (part of a series)
    Somebody Dies If Lily Beth Doesn’t Catch That Bouquet, A Southern Woman’s Guide to Planning the Perfect Wedding
    and
    Being Dead Is No Excuse, A Southern Woman’s Guide to Planning the Perfect Funeral

    The titles may be a little off but you can get all 3 from Amazon used so check them out. They are all fast reads!

    And have fun!!!!

  3. i, too, have rediscovered my love of reading!! the twilight saga is on my radar of what to read next i’ve heard such great things.

    hope germany is fantastic!

  4. Lacee said,

    I absolutely love, love, love the Twilight series. Welcome to the addiction. =) I hope you have a great time in Germany, and good luck with that geocache!

  5. Have a GREAT time in Germany. With my husband gone, I’ve been doing the EXACT same thing. Except for me, I’m finally reading Harry Potter. On book 4 and I can’t stop.

    Can’t wait to finally meet you in person if a month or so.

  6. Ruth said,

    OMG – I recently bought Twilight for both myself and my little sister ….. Neither one of us has made time to read it yet, but from the sound of your speed – it seems I better pick it up …. sounds like great fun. Thanks for mentioning it.

    Have a wonderful trip!!

  7. Michelle said,

    I saw your link on another blog and had to check your blog out just on the basis of it’s title! I live in Kyiv, Ukraine, and yes stilettos are deriguer foot gear for native ladies here.

    Love your title and photo! Will come back to visit! Don’t trip…..

  8. Amy In KL said,

    Have you heard of booksfree.com? A few of us here in Kuala Lumpur subscribe.

  9. Carola said,

    Hey, Jenn, I hope you’re having a wonderful time in Germany. I’m waiting to see some geocaching pics too. It would be a lot of fun. We’ll see if hubby and I might be able to put our little bug out this weekend or not. Depends mostly on the weather actually.


Leave a Reply

