October 4, 2008

Graduate School

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 2:16 pm by Jenn

 

I’m bored out of my mind and in desperate need of intellectual stimulation.  How do I know this?  Well, this past week I actually sought out continuing professional education credits, read the articles, completed the tests, addressed the envelopes and mailed them out.  That’s right I earned 9.5 CPEU credits and I ENJOYED IT! 

Those of you who don’t have to do continuing education to maintain licensure or registration don’t understand.  Those of you who do, must think I’m a total lunatic.  I mean come on.  CPEU’s are something that you wait to the last minute to do and then in a moment of desperation contact every person you know trying to find out where you can earn credits…free and QUICK.   Ok, maybe not all of us do that, but I know at least some of us do because I’ve been on the receiving end of that phone call!

I’ve been thinking for a while about going back to school to pursue my Master’s degree, but the urgency didn’t really hit me until this week.  I was thinking.  Sure I’ll have enough credits to maintain my licensure (I already have enough and then some), but a potential employer won’t be looking at my portfolio.  They’ll be looking at my resume.  You know, the one that will show me doing NOTHING for 3 years.  That’s when the panic set in, and that’s when I started searching for graduate schools.

I found a program at St. Joseph College  that will grant me 6 credits for my Dietetic Internship experience leaving me with only 24 credits remaining for my Master’s.  That’s not so bad and I can easily get those 24 credits in 2 years right?  RIGHT!  So I filled out the application, requested transcripts and letters of recommendation.  Now I just have to wait.  Well, wait and figure out how to pay for this.

The GI Bill has recently gone through some changes for the better.  These changes enable the GI to designate a dependant or spouse to receive a portion of his/her education funds.  I’m looking in to this as a possible funding source, I’ve asked Scott’s XO to look in to it also.  I’ve read via message boards that each branch of service has a different approval process and that it’s very difficult to actually get the award.  So we wait.  I’m also checking in to grants and scholarships which is a very long tedious process(already).  Certainly I will qualify for some money, but enough?  We’ll see.  I just paid off my student loans and I’m really not interested in going down that road again.

So there you have it!  I may be going BACK TO SCHOOL!

4 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    School sounds like a great idea to me. I didn’t know about the GI bill thing. Certainly makes sense-the money is allotted-someone should make sure it is used. Rather you than some bank that might get a chunk of the GI bill!!!

  2. Jen D said,

    Way to use your time Jenn- Best to you on your journey!

  3. sjsmart said,

    After further investigation in to the GI Bill it looks like the new rules don’t come in to play until August 2009! NEXT YEAR! Oh well, pray for scholarship money…

    Thanks Jen – I sent my application off yesterday 10/10. It’s all up to them now.

  4. Hello!

    Your blog caught my eye and I wanted to let you know about All Access Internships, a website devoted to helping students during the search and application to dietetic internships! Check it out at http://www.allaccessinternships.com and let any of your undergrad/grad classmates know about this resource! We collect testimonials on intern experiences to, so please direct any past interns to our website!
    I have listed off a few ways I thought you might be interested in getting involved in All Access Internships, since it seems as though you have a knack for helping out other students by contributing to your blog. Here are a few ideas:

    1. Write a review of All Access Internships on your blog. Let your blog readers know about the resource and highlight a few features!
    2. Share your experience in the internship and write an article for All Access Internships (go to GET INVOLVED–>SUBMISSIONS on the homepage)
    3. Tell dietetics students/current interns about AAI (and submit a survey found on the home page)
    4. Post a link to AAI on your blog
    5. Be apart of the Student Involvement Program (going to GET INVOLVED–>JOIN US on the website)
    6. Send an email to your DPD director telling them about AAI and encouraging to pass along the resource to their students
    7. Let me know of any other resources available to students applying to DIs (great websites you found during your search and application?)
    8. Any other ideas you have that could help dietetics students through this process. Katie (my partner) and I feel that the more students are able to use AAI and contribute to it, the greater the resource will become for future students, thus better preparing them for our profession!

    Also, we are going to add a new section to RESOURCES called “Intern Bloggers”. Would you be interested in having your blog listed here?

    I look forward to hearing from you!

    Jenny Westerkamp
    Chief Operating Officer, All Access Internships


Leave a Reply

