November 1, 2008

4 Movies and a Castle

Posted in Journal tagged , at 5:35 pm by Jenn

I’m back in Baku after a nice relaxing visit to Germany.  The weather in Germany was typical, cold and rainy, but it was still refreshing just to breathe the clean air and to just chill.

I did a little bit of sightseeing while I was there.  I stayed in Landstuhl and visited Burg Nanstein.  What a great old castle.  It is pretty much in ruins, but I was able to walk through most of it and took some pretty awesome pictures.  Of course I’m not able to upload them today for whatever reason so that will have to wait for another day.  I also made a trip in to Kaiserslautern or K-town as it is commonly referred to in the military community there.  I had hopes of finding the fair that was in town, but instead got sidetracked in the shopping district…oh darn!  LOL.  I bought a new wool coat and a few winter sweaters.  They even had a store that sold MAC so I was able to get a few items that I needed.  I also managed to buy a few Christmas gifts.  K-town was worth the trip.

Other than that most of my time in Germany was spent either shopping at the base or going to the movies.  I love staying at the Hotel Rosenhof, because right next door is a movie theater that plays movies in English.  I took advantage of the opportunity and saw four movies. 

The first night I saw Nights in Rodanthe with Diane Lane and Richard Gere.  If I’m not mistaken parts of this movie were filmed on Topsail Island when I lived in Sneads Ferry., or maybe Richard Gere just staying in a house there while filming down in Wilmington.   I can remember there being a lot of talk about Richard Gere being on “the island”.  The movie was just ok, nothing earth shattering.  I’m sure the book by Nicholas Sparks was MUCH better.

The next movie that I saw was Burn After Reading and while I did laugh at loud several times (at the pure stupidity) the movie was probably just about the stupidest thing I’ve seen other than Borat.  Brad Pitt and George Clooney were in this one and I’m just going to go out on a limb right now and say they won’t be winning any awards for their performances here.  The roles they played were better suited for Will Farrell and Owen Wilson types. 

Now I’ll admit that I was pretty lame for even thinking about seeing this third movie…High School Musical 3, but I saw it and since I admitted that I saw it I will also say that it was FAR better than either of the previous movies.  I will also say that I when I purchased my ticket the girl said, “One for High School Musical?”….”yes, just one”….that was my first clue that I was lame….the next clue was that I was surrounded by 8-10 year old girls who were wearing glittery t’shirts that said things like “I love Zach” and “High School Musical”….yeah.  Then the guy who announces that it’s time to go to the theater almost got trampled to death when he said, “High School Musical…..at that point I was the only person left in the concession line…um, yeah.

So, I purchased my popcorn, nachos and a diet pepsi and figured I may as well go all out.  If I’m going to be lame I may as well let everyone know it.  I walked in the theater and sat all by myself in the front row!  LOL.  The movie was great, I really enjoyed it and if that wasn’t sad enough I watched the credits all the way to the end.  I was also the last person to leave the theater.  Yep, definitely pathetic.

I thought that would be the end of my movie watching for the trip, but then my trip was extended for a few days.  Hmm, I was in town for discount night….the only movie left that I hadn’t seen was Pineapple Express.  What the hell, it’s on sale, I’ll bite.  This movie was stupid, but it was very entertaining and I laughed so hard I was crying at one point.  Stupid movie but WELL WORTH the sale price.  I will say this, seeing Seth Rogen in tighty whities has definitely left an impression that will probably scar me for life.

4 Comments »

  1. Welcome back!

  2. wineymomma said,

    Seth Rogen in tighty whities may have scarred me for life…just the thought!

  3. sjsmart said,

    Definitely scarred! Not a pretty picture…AT ALL.

  4. what’s with seth rogen and tighty wighties?? we just watched you, me and dupree and he’s got on the same outfit! and it’s scarring, too!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

