November 4, 2008

The Big Day is Finally Here!

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 11:56 pm by Jenn

I ask you to believe – not just in my ability to bring about change, but in yours. – Barack Obama

I love this time in the election.  Everything that can be said has been said.  It’s all up to the people now.  More people than ever before in the history of the United States are registered to vote, and will vote this year.  I voted by absentee ballot which I’m not thrilled about, but I can say that I voted.  Whether or not my vote counts this year or not will probably never be known, but I did vote. 

Since we are 9 hours ahead of EST we won’t know the results of any of the polls until tomorrow morning.  There is a special event beginning tomorrow morning.  We will go, watch the results come in and eat breakfast with other Americans who are just as anxious for all of this to be over as we are.

I’m also wondering if for the first time all of the McKinley’s in my immediate family voted for the same candidate…they never really say.  I still have NO idea who my husband voted for, and I’m wondering if my grandmother were still alive today who she would have voted for.  

Also on this day I like to remember Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Alice Paul and others who fought so hard for my right to vote.  1920 wasn’t so long ago.

4 Comments »

  1. Jen Hann said,

    Great post Jenn! And thanks for the reminder about the ladies of Seneca Falls.

  2. Heather said,

    I’m not 100% sure, but I THINK I got through to Mom and convinced her to vote for Obama. I must say – I got the biggest “squeee!” moment when I was next in line for the voting machine and could go cast my vote. Even more exciting was seeing the name “Barack Obama” on the ballot and touching the screen for the X to cast my vote. I am VERY excited to see the results here! I could always call you if we know before bedtime tonight. You won’t mind, will you????

    :O)

  3. jesshayden said,

    Gobama!

  4. Mom said,

    Heather did not get to me-Womens rights got to me. But as I walked to that machine I was still not sure what I was going to push for that first choice. We are all in for one hell of a ride and I hope we as humans are ready for it. Thank God that Mother Nature was kind to Dad’s garden last summer.


Leave a Reply

