November 5, 2008

Proud to Be an American!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 10:53 pm by Jenn

 

dsc00670

Today was an amazing day in American history.  One that I am not likely to ever forget.

My day started at 4:09 am.  I forgot to set my alarm, but instinctively I woke up knowing that the polls on the east coast were closing and the election results would be coming in.  You see, I am an American, but I don’t live in the USA.  I moved from the United States a year ago with my husband who is in the US military.

I grew up in the Washington DC metropolitan area and I love the energy that surrounds DC during election season.  I was sad that I wouldn’t be there to watch the map light up and listen to the comments of the local voters.  Instead I sat here in Azerbaijan in front of my computer, connected to the internet and abc.com and watched Sam Donaldson and some guy named Rick discuss the election, conduct interviews and did what I needed to do to entertain myself…I got out the colored pencils and began coloring in the states one by one as the results were announced, taking breaks in between results to announce to my husband that “Obama took Pennsylvania” and “He took Ohio too”, “Obama’s going to win this thing”.

The Embassy was hosting an election party at one of the local hotels.  We ended up arriving later than I’d wanted…we missed McCains’ concession speech which I’ve heard was very, very sincere and heartfelt.  I’ve since read the speech and it and his endorsement of President-elect Obama makes me proud to be an American. 

The party was nice, there were both American Embassy employees, American citizens and local Azeri citizens present.  The local media was also there covering the event.  I couldn’t wait for Obama to give his acceptance speech and when he arrived with his family and walked across that stage I got tears in my eyes.  I thought to myself, “Wow, this is really happening.  The citizens of the United States of America just elected an African American male to be President of the United States and I, an African American female was able to vote for him.  100 years ago this would have never been possible.”

Obama’s speech as usual was captivating.  He is such an eloquent speaker.  With tears in my eyes, I listened intently as he delivered that history making speech.  It left me and I’m sure many other Americans (and citizens of the world) filled with hope, ready for change. 

These are what I think will be quotes for the history books.

“If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible; who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time; who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.”

“It’s been a long time coming, but tonight, because of what we did on this day, in this election, at this defining moment, change has come to America.”

The road ahead will be long. Our climb will be steep. We may not get there in one year or even one term, but America – I have never been more hopeful than I am tonight that we will get there. I promise you – we as a people will get there.”

It was also interesting to watch the enthusiam of the local Azeri’s to our election process.  They just had elections here.  Their president was re-elected with 88 or 89 percent of the vote.  This is supposed to be a democratic society, but I have my doubts.  Anyway, it was interesting to watch them witness a truly democratic election, to hear them ask questions about the Electoral Vote Map and our election process in general.

So for this registered Republican, I’m proud to say that I cast my vote, I voted for Obama and I am PROUD to be an American.  For the first time in my voting history I have voted for a candidate that I have no reservations about, that I have 100% confidence in, AND who I truly believe was elected by the people and for the people.

God Bless the USA!

Now, I just need to find a frame for my map!  Oh, and if you are wondering….the picture in this post is the actual map that I colored and yes I did get a bit carried away in Alaska, it now extends in to Canada.

The only thing I feel like I missed today was George Stephanopolous…where was he?  He definitely wasn’t on abc.com

6 Comments »

  1. Miri said,

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Great day!

  2. Heather said,

    Awwww! Nice post, sis! I was THRILLED and cried my share last night as well. McCain’s speech was very nice, but the crowd ought to be ashamed of themselves – they booed each time Obama’s name was mentioned, even though McCain rolled his eyes at them and shook his head to get them to stop. I should have had the colored pencils out, too! Zac and I watched until his bedtime, then I taped the rest, but you know it’s out there on the internet today, so he can see it 100 times if he wants. He’s very excited that Obama won!

    P.S. – the McKinleys DID all vote for the same person this time! WOW! And it was Grammy, I think, deep down, that swayed Mom – she was VERY impressed with him back when he addressed the DNC a couple years ago. So Grammy was with us, too! YAY!

  3. Ron Towns said,

    What an amazing day in American history. I personally didn’t vote for Obama but am truly inspired by the positivity and global reaction resulting from his election. His energy is addicting and his demeanor inspiring.

    His story is truly American. I’d love to dive into Obama’s mind and discover his motives and internal dialog. To go through a year of campaigning is very difficult, but to go through a year of campaigning and deliver a speech like that is truly inspirational.

    What’s also fascinating is looking at the dynamic of who voted, how they voted, and what drove them to vote. Obama’s campaign created a wave of energy that grew bigger and bigger as his campaign moved forward, engulfing (in a good way) each supporter and supercharging them. How did they do this? It all started with a vision. Obama’s vision, planted deep within his mind, began to take root almost 2 years ago today. The power of his vision can teach every American citizen about how to accomplish goals using the powers of visualization and intention.

    I looked into this vision questing further and found that many super-successful people have been using vision boards to help focus their mind and accomplish their dreams. A vision board is a collage of images pasted on a board that represent your desired outcomes, your goals, and dreams. By studying your vision board, your brain gains clarity on what is important to your success, the things you MUST accomplish. I found a site http://www.TheVisionBoardKit.com that allows you to download a free 8-step power plan to creating vision boards. I’d highlight recommend downloading it.

  4. sjsmart said,

    Ron – I think that vision boards/visualization is a good way to keep those goals and dreams up front in your mind. It’s funny though, no matter how many years I’ve had that picture of Halle Barry on my fridge I still haven’t reached the desired outcome.

    Thanks for visiting and contributing to my blog.

    Heather – TGFG (Thank God for Grammy!)

    Miri – I feel the best is yet to come! I have such hope for the future of our country.

  5. jesshayden said,

    I love the idea of framing your map — excellent, excellent idea!

  6. […] Proud to Be an American! It was also interesting to watch the enthusiam of the local Azeri’s to our election process. They just had elections here. Their president was re-elected with 88 or 89 percent of the vote. This is supposed to be a democratic society, … […]


Leave a Reply

