November 10, 2008

Turning One

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 11:31 pm by Jenn

blogoversary1

 

Today is my first Blogoversary.  Happy Blogoversary to me…happy blogoversary to me…happy blogoversary, Learning to Walk in Stilettos…happy blogoversary to me.

I cannot believe that I have been at this for one year.  What a year it’s been.  This time last year I was living in Minsk, Belarus.  Today I am living in Baku, Azerbaijan.  It’s hard to imagine myself in either one of these places considering I’d never even heard of them until I found out we were moving here.  I must say that this past year has been a true experience and one that I’ll never forget. 

I’m so grateful that Ruthgot me started blogging.  If I didn’t have this blog I most likely would not have documented many of my feelings and emotions during this journey.  I certainly wouldn’t have a record of getting kicked out of Belarus and I wouldn’t have met some of the really wonderful people that I met through this site.

This blog has served a wonderful purpose…a way for me to stay connected to family and friends back home.  It has also served as my sounding board.  Since I spend a great deal of time alone compared to my previous life, this blog has been a sort of therapy for me.  A way for me to get off my chest the things that are driving me crazy and a way for me to document some of the day to day absurdities I experience living in these post-soviet cultures.

Here a just a few of the stats from Learning to Walk in Stilettos’ first year.  The total number of views as of this posting is 25, 758 with the busiest day being October 24, 2008, with 490 views.  The blog has received 818 comments in 193 posts.  The top 3 posts are Neuschawnstein Castle with 1410 views, Alien Invasion with 1, 194 views and Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute with 1, 168 views.  I think that is all rather impressive.  I mean almost 26,000 views!  That’s amazing. 

So with that being said, I’m setting a goal for myself for next year…to reach 30,000 views over the course of the year and to have at least one day with more than 500 views. 

This is National Blog Posting Month and I didn’t jump on board in time, I’m a little slow these days.  I would like to push myself to get back in the groove so I am starting OnPoADaFoMo….One Post a Day for a Month (same thing as NaBloPoMo, I just liked the way FoMo sounded at the end, so I’m doing my own thing).  What that means is that I will make at least one post each day, every day for the next 30 days….one post a day for a month!

And now for some long overdue bling for my blog.  This bling was given to me way back when (September) by Dee over at Wineymomma and the Monsters and also by Monica at Transplanting Me.  I hadn’t planned to hold on to it this long, but since I did what time more fitting for bling than a blogoversary…here it is

Thank you, Thank you very much!  Thank you everyone who reads my blog, comments on my blog and shares my blog.  I hope for my sake that the next year isn’t quite so dramatic and I can inject a little more humor in to some of my writing.  If not, there’s always knitting!

And to you crazy people who want to learn to walk in stilettos and wind up here instead, sorry!

3 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    Way to go girl. I have enjoyed your rantings and writings. You rock.

  2. notgoth said,

    belated congratulations! I have enjoyed reading your blog since we met via 30 voices!

  3. Ruth said,

    Happy Bloggiversary!! Time flies!!

    I’m fighting the jealousy – you have more than twice the hits I do!!! But come to think of it, I’m not really jealous, your blogging is totally worthy. 🙂

    Cheers!!


Leave a Reply

