November 11, 2008

I’ve Still Got It!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 9:15 pm by Jenn

Slowly but surely things are progressing.  I saw my first client today.  It felt really good to be able to help someone and to actually realize that I really haven’t forgotten everything I learned while becoming a dieititian.  It’s in there, it was just buried beneath a layer of Baku’s dust.  Once the dust cleared everything came flowing back to me. 

I did have to look up the calcium content of a cashew because I had no idea off the top of my head if cashews had more or less calcium than almonds.  Come to find out that they actually have a LOT less…10mg in one ounce of cashews vs 75mg in once ounce of almonds.  Just a little bit of RD trivia for you there.

So now my week is clear and I’m ready for some fibery fun tomorrow with my friend Jessica.  I’m going to show her the local yarn shop.  I need to pick up some buttons for the toddler sweater that I finished a few weeks ago.  I think that may be all I purchase unless I see something I absolutely can’t live without.  I have a ton of yarn coming from my mom and sister (Noro Silk Garden) and I have lots of projects here that are in the works so I think I’ll be able to resist.

I’m getting mail from the graduate school I applied to with a student number on it so I’m assuming that means I got in?  Not sure, but I plan to pursue it further.  I requested that my transcripts be sent and they should actually be there by now.  I’m just waiting for my recommendation letters to be send and that should happen in the next few weeks.  Do I really want to do this?  More school?  Is it going to make a difference?

4 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    Heck yeah do it now. You have the time and you’ll be so happy you did it. Not too many distractions…do it now! Perfect actually.

  2. we’re trying to get an appointment with a nutritionist for my youngest. and i feel silly doing it. i know what he should and shouldn’t eat. but we’re struggling because at 9 he’s 4 foot 9 inches and 110 pounds. which is bigger than either of his older siblings – well not taller than the 14 year old. so what am i likely to learn?

  3. heather219 said,

    You is a gaduate student now??? Woweeeee!!!!

    Congrats! We do take the long route, though, don’t we?

    :O)

  4. Mom said,

    Grammy would be happy to know that you are back in school. We always said that Da was a professional student. Maybe it runs in the genes.
    Congratulations


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

