November 13, 2008

Quit Your Complaining…OOOO, OUCH!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 3:50 pm by Jenn

My husband is very competitive…always has been and I suppose he always will be.  He hates to lose and will never admit that he lost, but will come up with the reasons why he did not win.  Things like:

We would have beaten them if we had 2 more minutes.  Or, the teams weren’t evenly stacked.  Or, so and so didn’t pull his weight.  I don’t play sports.  I never have, unless you count bowling.  I’ve always been better at non-competitive things like reading, knitting, cooking.  Part of the reason is that I don’t care if I win or lose.  I do things to have fun…not to win.  Really, I could care less.

Anyway, Scott isn’t 15 anymore and since he isn’t 15 (but refuses to act like a grown up) he gets aches and pains and limps around here for DAYS after he plays football, basketball, whatever.  I have no sympathy.  This past weekend was no exception.  He came home limping and complaining that he hurt himself before the first play of the game.  Did he stretch?…he says he did, but I’ve been to the gym with him…doubtful.  Did he stop playing?  No.  If he had perhaps I would have had sympathy, but because he didn’t, I don’t.  He says they wouldn’t let him…um, I just have one word, Marine.

Last night Scott came home from work and was getting ready to go to the gym.  He was getting his clothes out of the laundry room when this took place.

Me: “What’s that on your leg?”

Him: “Where?”

Me: “That huge bruise on your leg…what’s that from?

Him: “What bruise”

Me: “ummm, this one”

dsc00691

His response, “Where the hell did that come from?”.  I kid you not.  This is why I drink.  Ok, so apparently he really did injure himself the other day and that pull he felt in his groin was most likely one of his muscles tearing, and this is the result…lovely.  This is probably the worst bruise I have ever seen.  It is AT LEAST 12 inches long and 8-9 inches wide.  It takes up his entire inner thigh area from his groin to his knee cap.  I actually felt sorry for him…for about 10 minutes.

Once he got finished looking at the bruise in the mirror and saying…”See I told you”…he finished packing his gym bag.  That’s right.  He was actually going to the gym…with an injury like that.  This is the reason I don’t have sympathy.

This morning when we woke up we looked at the bruise and it’s actually gotten worse.  Bigger and darker.  Not surprising.  Over the next week or so we’ll probably watch this thing change a dozen times.  I suggested he go to the doctor.  He’s not going.  Yet another reason why I don’t have sympathy.  His sister is sending him a heating pad (obviously living with him for 17 years had no effect on her) to help with the back pain he’s been having the past few weeks, maybe it will arrive this week and he can use it on his bruise.  It’s funny.  The pain started just about the same time that football started.  Oh, and when he got home from the gym he said that several people had commented on his bruise…things like, “Dude, why the hell are you here?” and “What the hell did you do to yourself?”

Men!

I’m not making this stuff up people.  I’ve got a million of them.

Edited to add:  In all fairness to my husband he did see the NP at the Embassy today.  He will live.  Oh, and the heating pad arrived.

7 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    You should do stand up comedy-the house would roar! Hope he’s ok though- That’s not looking good.

  2. sjsmart said,

    I don’t think anyone would laugh. I think they’d just be sitting there with their mouths wide open gasping in horror. I love my life.

  3. pollypissypants said,

    One day this is going to make a funny and scary memoir!

  4. i understand the how’d that get there thing… while that is one mighty large bruise and i would probably remember i, i frequently hae a bruise here or there that i have no idea where it came from!

    yay for the heating pad!

  5. Mom said,

    What muscle did he tear?? That will make dancing at the ball a bit difficult won’t it?

  6. […] it was a fairly injury free season.  We had “the bruise“, a few bumps, a sore hamstring, an aching back and a  couple of strawberries, nothing […]

  7. Matt said,

    Same thing happened to me at the beginning of softball season. I played the whole season and we won the championship and continued working out in pain. Still don’t know what the bruise is from but it felt like pulled muscle.


Leave a Reply

