November 19, 2008

Education of an Expat

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 11:15 pm by Jenn

Tonight I was souvenir shopping with a friend who was in town.  We were walking along “Smelly Alley” which is a popular place to go for Baku souvenir items.  We were looking for a shot glass that had the Maiden Tower on it.  Surprisingly we were NOT able to locate this item, but we were shown just about every other shot glass in Baku.  At one point the man who worked one of the stalls was showing me crystal tea glasses.  He remarked that “your President drank tea out of a glass like this when he visited Baku”…I said, “George Bush?”  He kind of pursed his lips, made a psst sound and said, “No, NEW president, Obama”.  He then went on to say that Obama had visited here in 2005….”Good Man, Obama”. 

Someone, anyone PLEASE before Bush leaves office ask him to say Azerbaijan and then ask him to find it on a map.

When I came home I did my usual google search and sure enough, in 2005 Obama visited Ukraine, Russia and Azerbaijan with a Senior Senator.  Here’s a link to the article, which is actually pretty interesting. 

I also found another interesting site tonight called Legistorm.com.  Legistorm is fascinating to me.  Here you can look up all sorts of information about how our elected representatives spend public money.  Check it out.  I think it’s interesting that President Elect Obama received a rug from Azerbaijan’s President as a gift.  The rugs here are beautiful.  I’d love to see a picture of it and I’d rather receive a rug than a vial of water from the Caspian any day!   

 

2 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Heh. Bet he can’t find it OR pronounce it.

    I like that article on Obama’s visit. Especially the part where a reporter mentioned Luger’s 1996 presidential campaign and he (Luger) quickly said – “nah, that’s for Barak now, I’m through.” So prophetic!

    :O)

  2. jeremy said,

    I am desperately searching for a shot glass of Baku–where, oh where, is smelly alley? Please help me!!!

    I emailed you with directions to the “alley”


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

