November 20, 2008

For Real Writing

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 1:51 pm by Jenn

Scott mentioned to me sometime ago that the spouse of a friend he met at the gym worked for a local magazine here in Baku.  She mentioned to Scott that it would be great for me to write an article for the magazine.  At the time the idea was to generate business.  Of course, I’ll be writing this piece and not be paid.  Of course. 

I’m going to digress for a minute now. 

Why is it that dietitians have such a hard time getting paid for their services?  We are very caring and giving people, but for just how long should we be expected to volunteer before we have paid our dues?  Don’t get me wrong, I’d gladly package meals for Senior Citizens, work a day at a soup kitchen, donate non- perishable food items, etc. but I paid a lot of money to go to school to learn what I know and I really just want to make some money now. 

So, as I was saying before I interrupted myself – I’m going to write this article, for free, not to drum up business, not to see my name in print, but because I need some mental stimulation.  Now I’m thinking of ideas.  What to write?  Since it’s the holiday season should I write about ways to avoid unwanted weight gain during the holiday season (one of them being DO NOT HOST A COOKIE EXCHANGE). 

One thing’s for sure, no matter what I decide to write I’m sure it will be more science/evidenced based than the piece on the Watermelon Diet that I read when we first arrived in Baku.  I wish I knew the name of the magazine that it was in because I would link to it for sure.

So off I go, to a blank word document, with the hope of transforming it in to something useful.

2 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    I would be very interested in reading whatever it is that you write, as well as any ideas you may have regarding “willpower”. I used to have it, but now not so much.

  2. sjsmart said,

    Jen – Hopefully I’ll be figuring out what to write very soon. I keep starting and stopping because the topics I’m picking just aren’t right for the population here.

    Willpower is a wonderful thing once you learn to control it. I’ll email you about that later.


Leave a Reply

