November 25, 2008

Thanksgiving Dinner Menu 2008

Posted in Journal, What's for Dinner tagged , , , at 5:52 pm by Jenn

 

 

The big day is right around the corner and thankfully I had two packages arrive today with ingredients that I need to make a couple of the items I plan to serve with Thanksgiving dinner (Chex Party Mix and Pecan Pie).

This year we have a little larger crowd than last.  I think the total I need to feed is 13 (plus 2 kids).  This is what I have planned. 

Thanksgiving 2008 Menu

Oven Roasted Turkey with Bread and Celery Stuffing

Slow Cooker Cola Ham

Giblet Dressing

Easy Giblet Gravy

Mashed Potatoes

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Grandmas Green Bean Casserole

Red Currant Sauce 

Meesie’s Refrigerator Rolls

Pecan Pie

Perfect Pumpkin Pie 

Cheesecake

Pumpkin Bread

Chex Mix

This year I am linking to the recipes that will serve as my guide.  I had so many requests for recipes last year that this year I decided that I will just refer people to my blog.  These recipes will get them in the ballpark anyway.  I usually find the recipe that has the best rating on Allrecipes.com, read the reviews and then modify the recipe based on my tastes and preferences.  I’ve found this to be very successful and have created some must have again dishes using this website.  Last year dinner was a huge hit so I figured I would just duplicate that effort.

I really LOVE the Allrecipes.com website.  I went on the other day, modified the recipes to the number of servings that I needed and then placed the recipe in my shopping list.  After I had added all the recipes, I print the shopping list and there neatly organized were the items that I needed to prepare the whole meal.  It gave me the amount of potatoes, flour, spice, dairy ingredients etc.   I love that feature.   Print, click and go.

I took my turkey out of the freezer on Saturday night and hopefully it will be thawed and ready to go on Thursday morning.  I made the cranberry saucered currant sauce yesterday (thinner than I’d hoped, but YUMMY!).  This evening I’m making the Chex Mix and prepping the sweet potatoes. Tomorrow I will do most of the sides,  and make the corn bread for the stuffing and dressing.   That leaves the turkey, ham, dressing, mashed potatoes and rolls for the day of.  Not so bad!  And hopefully with the lessons I learned from last year I’ll be able to have dinner ready to go on time.

I bet you are wondering what about dessert right?  Well two of the girls that Scott works with want to learn how to make pumpkin pie and cheesecake so I told them that they could come over on Wednesday evening and I would show them.  So we’ll make the desserts during Pie/Cake 101.

I just realized that I don’t have a pickle/cheese tray but that’s easy enough to throw together, a few jars of pickles, a couple kinds of olives, some chunks of cheese, tooth picks, crackers…done.  I also needs plates, cups, utensils and napkins but I’ll pick those up tomorrow on my way home from having my morning latte at the coffee shop!

All those food classes that I had to take in college really pay off around the holidays.  I really don’t feel stressed out about this at all.  Of course Thursday night I may need a straight jacket and a rubber room, but for now I’m good.  Alrighthy then, off to make the Chex Mix!

 

 

6 Comments »

  1. yum!! giblet dressing and gravy – i’m gonna miss that this year.

    your dinner sounds fantastic.

  2. pollypissypants said,

    Thank you for this.. I have been wondering what a proper thanksgiving dinner is and well this sounds like its perfect! Enjoy!!!

  3. Jessica said,

    Wow! What an excellent preview. I’m hungry already. Thanks for doing all of this!

  4. Christine said,

    Wow, you are amazing. I wouldn’t even be able to pull this off for four (too many people with food poisoning at once, you know?).

  5. Jen Hann said,

    Those sweet potatoes sound delicious, I am totally using that recipe tomorrow. Thanks for posting the link!

  6. sjsmart said,

    The sweet potatoes kick ass! The mashed potatoes, were too thick…good flavor though.

    I’m tired, my feet hurt and I am going to bed. Happy Thanksgiving all. Next year I’m going to one of your houses!


Leave a Reply

