November 27, 2008

What I am Thankful For

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 11:39 pm by Jenn

This year in keeping with our Thanksgiving tradition we joined hands around the dinner table and announced what we were thankful for. 

This year I said that I am thankful for the health of my family and friends.  Each person in turn said what they were thankful for and then when it came to one of our guests, a Marine he said that he was thankful for the food.  He said that he couldn’t remember when he’d had a home cooked traditional Thanksgiving. 

So in addition to being thankful for the health of my family and friends I’m thankful that I gave this young man something that he shouldn’t have gone so long without…a home cooked holiday meal.  I was also thankful that when I offered leftovers to take home, the young man took me up on my offer, saying that one of his favorite things was a turkey sandwich the next day.  Mine too.  I’ll be having one for breakfast.

Happy Thanksgiving.

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    I bet that Marine was very happy with your dinner. We had our sandwiches for lunch and Zac was surprised to find dressing in his. He ate it right down!!! Turkey couch tomorrow!

  2. Jen D said,

    Ah, Turkey couch…I still remember you sharing yours w/me years ago!!! I had stuffing for breakfast, AND lunch…! Still more in the fridge…

  3. i enjoyed the thanksgiving dinner this year. it’s normally not my favorite. i don’t just love turkey. but this year i did love it and while all the sides weren’t our normal sides, they were lovely and still very traditional and filling. it was wonderful!


Leave a Reply

