December 2, 2008

CRS Syndrome

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 11:07 pm by Jenn

I think it’s finally hit me…CRS Syndrome.  I have days that I talk about and look forward to for weeks, and that day arrives and I totally forget about it until someone asks me how “it” was.  Then I remember, I wanted to do something.  I CANT REMEMBER SHIT (CRS)!

I don’t have a job or any social life to speak of so you’d think that I’d be able to remember one simple thing each week right?  WRONG!  The first Tuesday of every month is the book swap at the local coffee shop.  The one that is now in it’s second month and the one that I’ve forgotten about for the second month in a row.  I thought about it yesterday, I even picked the books that I would take to trade.  Oh well, maybe next month.

And also because I “CRS” I have a few pictures that I’ve been promising to post so here they are in no particular order.

dsc00762  This is a picture of my pashmina shawl/scarf score from the Airport Bazaar.  I know you really can’t see how beautiful they are, but they are beautiful.  The red ones were 1 manat a piece and I’m using them on tables as decoration over the holidays.  They look beautiful.  The bag at the top with red and green are little neck scarves that I’m going to use in my china cabinet or somewhere that I need some accent color.

dsc00763  These are the linen towels that I purchased here, but were made in Belarus.  They are perfect to line a bread basket or to use to dry dishes.  Once they have been washed they are super soft.  I love these towels.  Isn’t the frog on the right CUTE?

dsc00757  This is a typical Baku side street.  This one is near the coffee shop.  Notice the trash and the condition of the roads?   The roads are horrible and just one of the many reasons that it takes forever to get anywhere by car in this town.

dsc00758  This!  What to say about this?  Well, this is a little drying rack outside of a local salon.  What I find fascinating about this drying rack is that it not only contains towels, but plastic bags, plastic gloves and ALUMINUM FOIL.  This is recycling at it’s finest.  They highlight someones hair, wash the foil, hang it out to dry and use it on the next customer.  LOL.  In this picture please also notice the piss poor construction of the sidewalk.  The sidewalks here are not concrete they are these ceramic/marble/clay tile pieces.  Half of them are cracked, some are missing altogether.  When you really take a look you can figure out why this construction doesn’t work.  They don’t lay any type of foundation.  They just slap the tiles down on the dirt and hope for the best. 

dsc007591  This really isn’t important, I just found it amusing.  How do people lose their shoes?  And I bet whoever the woman was that lost this shoe had some pretty sore feet.  This rubble is pieces of tile that have been smashed to smithereens…there are also bits of glass and other trash in this area.  Only one shoe.

dsc00764  And finally the fuel for my knitting frenzy this week.  8 skeins of Noro Silk Garden sent to me by my mother and sister.  Purchased at the Stitches East Convention that I wanted so badly to attend.  I’ve used the skeins to the right of the picture so far.  The lighter skeins went to make a nice lacy scarf for a friend and the 2 darker on the end are in progress right now (to finish tomorrow) and will be a neck wrap for another friend.  I’m still debating on what to do with the other skeins.  I could make 2 more scarves, but I’d really like to make myself a Noro Striped Scarf and maybe a pair of mittens.

6 Comments »

  1. Jessica said,

    Book swap! What a great idea. I need to get in on that. I won’t be around in January, but let’s make a date to go in Feb. We can help each other remember!

  2. Jen D said,

    The recycling is most interesting! LOL. Love looking at all the pics.

  3. Ruth said,

    I love seeing “your temporary world”. I know what would help w/ CRS! Do Holidailies w/ me! Pretty please? It’s fun….. and you’ll have a month of notes to look back on at the end.

  4. sjsmart said,

    Jess – I’m making a note to remind myself to remind you to remind me.

    Jen – This place is a photo journalists DREAM!

    Ruth – I’m in. I just finished signing up. Holidailies at Home for me.

  5. delia said,

    how long have you been living in baku? peculiar choice of photos. have you ever seen new york subway, sneakers hanging on the wires, and side streets of new york? i wouldn’t post those kind of pics for my friends in baku b/c the landmarks of new york override those unfortunate incoherency of “civilization”.

  6. sjsmart said,

    Delia – I’ve been living in Baku since May 2008. I don’t think this is a peculiar choice of photos, but rather an accurate representation of the things I encounter on a day to day basis that make living in this country, different and awkward for me. If you look back through my blog I have posted pictures of the landmarks that I have visited. If you have suggestions of places in Baku that I should visit I would glady accept them.

    I have not had the opportunity to visit New York City and experience what you have seen. Perhaps your friends in Baku would be interested in seeing some of these things in addition to the landmarks.


Leave a Reply

